SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast PHPmySQLer's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

run existing .sql script through MySQL error 1064

I am new to MySQL, but when the book instructions are wrong it gets even more frustrating.
    I am trying to "pipe" an existing .sql script from CD through MySQL, here is the code from the book (with localhost as my host) and using dbase books:

>mysql -h localhost -u bookorama -D books -p < bookorama.sql

and another

>mysql -h localhost -u bookorama -p < book_insert.sql

i tried leaving off mysql...no help

now I know that these both should end with ; or \g, but that's when I get the 1064 error saying to check the manual for the correct syntax. What's the fix here? Neither one of these commands work and they are both different! I've looked everywhere for help. I am assuming the scripts can be located, but I copied them to my root folder just in case.

Here's more incorrect book instruction on how to create a table that I figured out on my own:

CREATE TABLE tablename(columns)....no semicolon and no indication that you need identifiers for the columns. Thanx authors.

I am using MySQL Administrator, MySQL 4.1, PHP 4.3.

I'm making decent progress, but not having the right info is driving me nuts! I am scouring mysql.com, php.net etc when I have to, but I bought a book so I could have a comprehensive overview of what I'm doing. It doesn't seem to be helping.

Any suggestions? Thanx in advance

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you running those commands from within mysql? If so that is why you are getting the errors. If you are using Linux then use your shell to issue those commands. If you are using Windows then you want to use either the RUN or COMMAND PROMPT to run those from.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)