SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    D¨n ╔ideann, Alba
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Doh! You say window.print().

    A-ha! Suppose, then, that the frame I want to print is different from the one calling the function.

    How, do I then print the print the frame, since window.print won't work?

    A-ha! You say parent.frame-name.print().

    Alas, this doesn't work, either. Anybody got a workaround?


  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    a clunky way of doing it would be to write a function that calls a popup window with the frame in it. Then write a function in THAT window the calls OnLoad="window.print();" then when it's done, closes the window.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    D¨n ╔ideann, Alba
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanx, but that really would be clunky. Too many windows would confuse my users. I've got a lot of public sector uses who are thick about using the web, so anything that reduces complexity is best!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sure...I knew that it was clunky when I posted it, but if it did it all automatically, then closed the window behind itself it would not be that bad.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    D¨n ╔ideann, Alba
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're right, I could blur the window behind all others. But how do I know when to close it. If I close it too soon, then the print job wil fail (right??). And different machines will spool at different speeds, so using a setTimeout to offset the window's closure is quite clunky too.

    Another problem, I'm given to believe, is that Macs don't support "window.print" . Can you confirm if this correct?

    Cheers.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    can;t confirm. You could leave it open for 60 seconds. That shoudl be mroe than long enough to print some text ona page.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •