SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Single Again KestonE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    WTF ??? Yahoo MSNGR

    I recently went up update my yahoo profile and to my suprise it seems like yahoo is siding with Microsoft.

    "We're sorry, Yahoo! Avatars doesn't currently support your operating system and/or browser.

    # To use Yahoo! Avatars, you need: Microsoft Windows operating system
    # Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher - download Internet Explorer
    # Macromedia Flash Player - download Flash


    We may support other platforms in the future. Please check back."

    Microsoft is getting out of hand with this bs, First you could not use Windows update with out I.E. and now to find out that Yahoo is doing the same to get your profile updated gets me more pissed. :angry:.

    Opening I.E. is more like asking my P.C. to make spyware a good nice comfty seat in the Windows registry.
    Keston.E: The greatest things in life are the things we love.
    "When the Pawn Hits the Conflicts He Thinks Like a King."
    Cheers to new beginnings | Keep ya head up

  2. #2
    Employed Again Viflux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, On.
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used IE for years (until very recently) and never had any spyware.

    I don't understand the problem. Do you realize how much testing a large company like Yahoo would have to perform in order to support all the different browsers out there? Our company takes one month, with 20-30 testers, to test out a new section of our application. That's like, maybe 10-20 pages, forms, etc. And we only test with 2 different setups (WinXP/IE6 and OS2/NS4).

    To you, it may be a simple matter of not doing a browser check, but the cost to them of having full support for different browsers would be astounding.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    €uroLand
    Posts
    1,340
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Viflux
    I used IE for years (until very recently) and never had any spyware.

    I don't understand the problem. Do you realize how much testing a large company like Yahoo would have to perform in order to support all the different browsers out there? Our company takes one month, with 20-30 testers, to test out a new section of our application. That's like, maybe 10-20 pages, forms, etc. And we only test with 2 different setups (WinXP/IE6 and OS2/NS4).

    To you, it may be a simple matter of not doing a browser check, but the cost to them of having full support for different browsers would be astounding.


    I am slowly getting tired of all this silly Microsoft bashing. People always complain without knowing the facts. I have used IE for years and am still using it and never had a single spyware incident.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard mark_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats generally the case with people who are 'more informed' about computers though. Give IE to your average Joe and you will get spyware like there is no tomorrow.

    Im not bashing MS here though.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    €uroLand
    Posts
    1,340
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mark_W
    Thats generally the case with people who are 'more informed' about computers though. Give IE to your average Joe and you will get spyware like there is no tomorrow.

    Im not bashing MS here though.
    Yeah, this is probably somewhat true. I am just objecting to these typical generalisations.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard mark_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by drzoid
    Yeah, this is probably somewhat true. I am just objecting to these typical generalisations.
    I agree, people are to quick to bash of MS.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah.. I use Firefox because I like tabs. I like it's interface. I don't use it because I'm scared to open IE...

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict Diether's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Opera is much better
    Just don't like IE.
    And I did get spyware of it.
    Forum Affiliates Network
    - Post exchange/advertising network for (new) forums
    - Community for forum owners

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard samsm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    5,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mark_W
    Give IE to your average Joe and you will get spyware like there is no tomorrow.
    This is exactly what happened to me!

    I let a freind use IE for about 5 minutes and some search bar was installed. I had previously used IE for hours without incident.

    I think when many people see a windows message, they think "hit ok, get rid of this message", not "hit ok, do whatever the message says".
    Using your unpaid time to add free content to SitePoint Pty Ltd's portfolio?

  10. #10
    <? echo "Kick me"; ?> petesmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm getting annoyed with the IE bashing as well. And for the record, Windows Update Requires ActiveX, thats why you need to use it. If you don't want to, use automatic updates.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    €uroLand
    Posts
    1,340
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Diether
    And I did get spyware of it.
    Yeah, yeah, those nasty sites

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict Diether's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Haha, no Got no idea how it got there.
    And I never click "ok".
    Forum Affiliates Network
    - Post exchange/advertising network for (new) forums
    - Community for forum owners

  13. #13
    SitePoint Evangelist AlexC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    437
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i have younger brothers who use the computer. With IE, after 20 mins there would be so much crap and spyware. Firefox has fixed the problem
    Nearly 7 years old!

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard mark_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by samsm
    This is exactly what happened to me!

    I let a freind use IE for about 5 minutes and some search bar was installed. I had previously used IE for hours without incident.

    I think when many people see a windows message, they think "hit ok, get rid of this message", not "hit ok, do whatever the message says".
    Thats exactly the same with my dad when he used the computer.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •