SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I am a database consultant in the UK and I was hoping to collect opinions (informed or otherwise) about whether an idea I have to make money is clever or daft.

BTW- you are welcome to steal my idea since I "stole" it from a book anyway!

What I've done is used a database (FileMaker) to automatically generated ordinary static HTML pages. This is for a client who sells used notebook PC's and who wanted to display a table on his site showing his current stock. What this means is that within the database there is a button which when pressed causes 10 different HTML tables to be created along with a directory containing about 400 simple HTML files. This happens on the local hard disk and the tables give a summary of my client's stock and the HTML files are detailed information on each notebook PC which he has available. These files still need uploading etc- they are just ordinary HTML files that have been automatically generated. Automatically creating these files takes about 90 seconds.

My idea is to concentrate my consultancy on doing this for others since it seems pretty useful and might be something that lots of people would like to have.

That said, it is a "cheap and cheerful" solution to the same problem addressed by building a database driven site. What I would love to know is:
    -Are others doing this?
    -Would some of your clients benefit from this type of approach or am I wasting my time thinking about this - should I just learn PHP and MySQL?

Thanks for your opinions!

Cheers,

Chris Van Buren

Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you should just learn how to intergrate a database with a website.

You already have the information in DB form, and then you turn it into html.

Why not just keep it in db form?

No offense but this seems like a backwards step.