SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard maartenvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,679
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PC is slow - but spy/ad ware free

    My PC always runs great. I keep it free of Spyware and Adware, free of Virusses etc. 2 Days ago the power went off for about an hour and I believe it must have been since then that my PC runs much much slower. Why could this be? Wouldit have anything to do with the power going off? What else could it be?
    Maarten

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict philipwhite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How often do you defrag and how many files do you have on your computer?

  3. #3
    ..back with a vengeance... Ingoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Benningen, Germany
    Posts
    6,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Apart from file fragmentation it could be numerous things, but most likely:

    1. Lack of ram -> hence swap to disk (slow)
    2. Swap to small
    3. Too many processes

    To analyze this a little bit further you should provide us with some more information: OS used, how much ram, size of swap-file, check task-manager for cpu usage, ...

    Ingo
    Advisor - Community Team
    CHD-magician + + =
    Some of my sites: [1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10]
    Newest site: ZZ.GD - t dsn't gt mch shrtr thn tht

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard maartenvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,679
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I defrag once a month. I have 2 harddrives, the main drive with the OS is 40GB and the second HD is 120GB The c: drive has 26GB of free space left over (70%) This is about 100.000 files.
    Got 384 MB RAM.
    Windows XP Pro

    I have no clue about this swap thing...where do I check that?

    The CPU usage sits at about 2% when I do nothing. It is the taskmgr.exe that has the 2%
    Maarten

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hrm. I have more ram, and one bigger harddrive then both of your combinded, BUT I suggest a ram update.

    For Example: I have 512 megs of ram on this PC (I don't need anymore) And i can run photoshop actively, my security stuff, windows stuff, XP with XP mode on, and MSN,
    AIM, Skype, and a few pages in my browser (Tabbed)

    If you do not want to purchase more ram - Then I suggest turning the XP theme off. I once watched G4TV and it said that the XP Theme uses a lot of RAM - So simply I suggest turning it off, yeah it will look ghetto and like '98 etc. - But it will still have the newerness of XP.

    My Four Cents

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard maartenvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,679
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It does not matter to me. I run lots of stuff on my PC like Dreamweaver, Fireworks and a bunch of others at the same time, and it works great. More RAM may be nice but it is not neccesary.

    Like I said, it ran fine utill the power went off. This just started a few days ago. It has nothing to do with the size of the drive and the amount of Ram.
    Maarten

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard megamanXplosion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    1,099
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?t=224922

    At the bottom there is a list of tweaks that I thrown together. The "swap" file is also called "virtual memory" (it's not real memory, it's just saved portions of RAM.) In the thread I linked to, check out all of the tweaks and especially the Virtual Memory Speed Increase tweak.

    Also, at the same configuration spot as that tweak, you can change the location of the swap file so you can create a small 2gb partition (FAT32 recommended since it has less overhead) and put your swap file on there. I just done the same thing last night (created 2gb fat32 partition for swapping) and I'm enjoying quite a substantial speed boost. If you do not have a partition manager, then check out Acronis Disk Director Suite here, it's a great program.

    Hope this helps

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Acton, MA
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would pay attention to your task manager to see if there is a rogue process that is eating up system resources or an inordinate amount of RAM.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard maartenvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,679
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool, that will give me lots to work with! Thanks guys!
    Maarten


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •