SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    database help please

    Hello all, first off i'm new here

    Looks like a great place and look forward to learning from all of you.

    Now my question is, I am just getting into database design (MS access) and ColdFusion. My problem is I can create a DB connection locally on my machine at home, and all seems to work fine (info is being entered into the DB), but once I get it online it does not seem to find the DB. The host I have has a create DB source. I create one and I name it exactly as I have it but it still does not work (cant find data source)? Am I doing something wrong or is there something I am missing?

    Thank you for your time

  2. #2
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sounds like you just need to point your scripts to the particular directory where the db is located.

    for example let's say you have a linux host and your msaccess is located here... "/home/webhosting/account/databases/youraccess.mdb"

    you would have to point your scripts to that directory in order for it to work. the same applies to a windows account as well. for example if it's located here

    "c:"\home\webhosting\account\databases\youraccess.mdb" then make the changes to find the db in question. hope this helps.
    i love php

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for your reply

    I'm not sure what you mean by pointing the path to my DB,

    when I go through my site and create a DB source it creates a path

    mysite.com\database\myDB.mdb

    The DB is in a database folder called database

    I thought all I needed to do was to name my DNS source?
    for eg...

    CFQUERY DATASOURCE="myDB"

    I have been looking on all CF scripts and That is all I can find, I don't see anyone mention the full path inside the CF script itself. Should I put it in

    so it would look like this?
    CFQUERY DATASOURCE="mysite.com\database\myDB.mdb"

    sorry for being ignorant

  4. #4
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes try that out and see if that helps. hmm do this first k instead of the mysite.com <<< part remove that and only put this there instead >>>>> CFQUERY DATASOURCE="\database\myDB.mdb"

    i love php

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok when I do that I still get a DB error?

    thank you for your time with this

  6. #6
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmm is this a free account or paid hosting? ok now add the mysite.com in front of the last suggested idea..
    i love php

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no this is a paid CF MX host, I still get the Error Executing Database Query?

  8. #8
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmm does it tell you how to connect to it on their hosting account?
    i love php

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am waiting fro a reply back

    thank you for your help

    (if you think of anything else let me know )


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •