SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast GreenMind's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am just wondering if there is some way to add a banner to a picture on a web page. I know you can do it with a back ground but i don't kno how with a picture.
    Kyle Larson - eMail | PM | ICQ
    www.GreenMind.us

  2. #2
    pg for mild peril cow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    nevada, usa
    Posts
    636
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    more detail please

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Stud1905, is this what you meant? If it is, all you have to do is cut up your image to fit the banner in. If you don't know what I mean look at the source for the page.

    You can do the same with layers without having to cut up the image but unfortunately layers are not supported in Netscape 4X so I would not choose to go with them.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast GreenMind's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah thats it... but is there some way you can make a rotation banner? Like multiply banners with a script?
    Kyle Larson - eMail | PM | ICQ
    www.GreenMind.us

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure there is. Just get a banner rotation script from a place like HotScripts and have the banner show up at the right place.

    Try one of these JavaScript scripts.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast GreenMind's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeha I have a script but how could i insert it into "the picture"?
    Kyle Larson - eMail | PM | ICQ
    www.GreenMind.us

  7. #7
    busy Steelsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Houston, Tejas; Future Capital of the World
    Posts
    2,474
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make a table, say for example 3 columns by 3 rows:

    R1C1 R1C2 R1C3
    R2C1 R2C2 R2C3
    R3C1 R3C2 R3C3

    Place your banner script in the center of the table (R2C2), and slice up your picture/image to fit around it in the other cells.
    Learn about image slicing and tables for placing images near each other. There are hundreds of tutorials about this. Just use your banner script in place of where you would place part of the picture (make sure the dimensions are the same size, for example if the banners are running at 460x60, place the script in a cell that dim).

    It's an elementary procedure. I do it with flash movies all the time: I'll make an image of a TV set and cut out the screen (which is the center cell) and replace it with a flash movie of the same dimensions. I can change the movies as I wish.
    Brian Poirier
    SunStockPhoto: Stock Photos, Fine Art Photos, Event Photography

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Stud1905, I gave you an example of a sliced image. Just replace the banner <img src="..."> code with the banner rotation code.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •