SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How much should I charge?

Hi. I'm new to the forums, so I wasn't exactly sure where I should post this.

Here's my situation:

I'm a recent college graduate and I plan on doing some freelance web development (to gain more experience and add to my portfolio) until I find something else in the field. I've worked on some projects for small businesses in the past but nothing too big.

I currently have a client asking me to build a website similar (in functionality) to bensbargains.net . I've also been asked to develop a custom application to allow him to later edit/add content to the website.

There is a bit of a conflict of interest though. My client is marrying into the family so I don't want to overcharge but at the same time I want to be compensated approriately for my work.

How much should I charge (in Canadian dollars if possible)?
    Last edited by Mittineague; Apr 25, 2014 at 16:35.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Pricing discussions aren't allowed on Sitepoint. Charge what you believe would be a fair price for all the work involved in creating a site of that caliber.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    Pricing discussions aren't allowed on Sitepoint. Charge what you believe would be a fair price for all the work involved in creating a site of that caliber.
    Sorry, I was unaware. I'm just saying that it will be difficult for me to gauge what is fair and what isn't if I don't have much of a scale to compare it on. I was merely looking for estimates so that I could have a scale on which to decide what is fair.

I'd appreciate it if anyone could Private Message me (if that is in fact allowed) or point me to a forum/site where I might get this estimate.

Thanks.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)