SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    won't delete the row!

    This seems very textbook, but it isn't working. Once I carry over the variables (which it does do correctly) the delete query doesn't work. Anyone know why this may be? (NOTE: This is a small snippet, the actual code is much longer, so I really didn't forget the $connect variable or <?php)
    PHP Code:
    if(isset($_POST['submit'])){
                     // Get linkid from url
                     $linkid = $_GET['linkid'];
                     // Delete the link
                     $result=mysql_query("DELETE FROM links WHERE linkid=$linkid ",$connect);
                     echo "<font size=5 color=red><b>Record Deleted!</b></font><br>
                           <font size=2>You will now be redirected to the Main Page in 3 seconds</font><br><br>";
                  include "footer.php";
                     echo "<meta http-equiv=Refresh content=3;url=index.php>";
                   }
           // If form not being submited... well then display the thing
           else{
                ?>
                <table width='100%'>
                 <tr>
                  <td colspan='2'><center>
                  <font color='red' size='5'><b>Are you sure you want to delete<br>
                  the link to</font><font size='5'> <?php echo $name?>?</b></font>
                  </td>
                 </tr>
                 <tr>
                  <td align='right' width='35%'>
                   <form method="post" action="<?php echo $PHP_SELF ?>">
                    <input style='font-weight: bold; font-size: x-small;color: #FFFFFF;background-color:RED;letter-spacing:1px;height:20px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;border-color :#000000;' type="submit" name="submit" value="   YES   ">&nbsp;&nbsp;
                   </form>
                  </td>
                  <td align='left' width='65%'>
                   <form method="post" action="index.php">
                    &nbsp;&nbsp;<input style='font-weight: bold; font-size: x-small;color: #FFFFFF;background-color:green;letter-spacing:1px;height:20px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;border-color :#000000;' type="submit" name="submit" value="               NO             ">

                   </form>
                  </td>
                 </tr>
                </table>

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    At My Desk!!
    Posts
    1,642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i know you said that you connected but did you select the databaseu need??
    "Am I the only one doing ASP.NET in Delphi(Pascal)?"

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    At My Desk!!
    Posts
    1,642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another thing ive just seen, when u have this line:

    PHP Code:
    $result=mysql_query("DELETE FROM links WHERE linkid=$linkid ",$connect); 
    doesnt the $connect point towards the connection not the database that you have selected, i would have thought that the if your going to put a variable in there it would need to be the one for the database you have selected??
    "Am I the only one doing ASP.NET in Delphi(Pascal)?"

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    At My Desk!!
    Posts
    1,642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    maybe try this:
    PHP Code:

    $linkid 
    '\'' mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['linkid']) . '\''
        
        
    $sql 'DELETE'
            
    .    ' FROM'
            
    .    ' links' 
            
    .    ' WHERE'
            
    .    ' linkid = ' $linkid 
            
    ;
           
           
    $result mysql_query($sql) or die (mysql_error); 
    Lookint at it aswell, do u need to "specify what you are deleting" FROM links, i dont know whether you do or not might be worth tryin
    "Am I the only one doing ASP.NET in Delphi(Pascal)?"

  5. #5
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried all of the advice you gave me (and added a deletion wildcard, maybe not such a good idea but I'm a bit desperate) but it didnt work. And the connection works fine in everything else.
    thanks for trying, though
    Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    At My Desk!!
    Posts
    1,642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes 1 more idea, wait for someone more experienced than me to help

    Sorry couldnt be more help, but good luck anyways
    "Am I the only one doing ASP.NET in Delphi(Pascal)?"

  7. #7
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,788
    Mentioned
    151 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    What about the quotes around you variable?
    PHP Code:
    $result=mysql_query("DELETE FROM links WHERE linkid='$linkid' ",$connect); 
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    421
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so you're getting the link id through $_GET, but there is no link id in the URL on the page i think.. so you maybe should try this:

    PHP Code:
    <form method="post" action="<?php echo ($_SERVER['PHP_SELF'].'?linkid='.$_GET['linkid']); ?>">
    the other way is as HardCoded mentioned to use hidden field and to get the variable through $_POST:

    PHP Code:
    <form method="post" action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']; ?>">
      <input type="hidden" name="linkid" value="<?php echo $_GET['linkid']; ?>">
    ...and use $_POST['linkid'] to get the variable... and maybe put some data validation before execute delete statement, of course ;-)

  9. #9
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ahh, thanks for everyones help. It still wasnt working, but I realized that it could be tied in with other features through sessions.
    Thanks!

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    421
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    could you change your code this way and post debug information here..

    PHP Code:
    if (isset($_POST['submit'])) {
      
    // Get linkid from url 
      
    $linkid $_GET['linkid']; 
      
    // Delete the link 
      
    $query 'DELETE FROM links WHERE linkid='.$linkid;
      
    $result mysql_query($query$connect);
      
    $result2 mysql_query($query);
      echo 
    '<pre>';
      
    var_dump($linkid);
      
    var_dump($query);
      
    var_dump($result);
      
    var_dump($result2);
      
    var_dump(mysql_affected_rows($connect));
      
    var_dump(mysql_affected_rows());
      echo 
    '</pre>';
      echo 
    '
      echo "<font size=5 color=red><b>Record Deleted!</b></font><br><font size=2>You will now be redirected to the Main Page in 3 seconds</font><br><br>"; 
      include "footer.php"; 
      echo "<meta http-equiv=Refresh content=3;url=index.php>"; 


  11. #11
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got it working with sessions. Thanks for your help!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •