SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: zip a folder...

  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    blahblahblah
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    zip a folder...

    Hi,
    for the first time I need to zip a folder.

    It's quite bizarre because winzip doesn't seem to want to keep the subfolders... It just put all the files in one dir.

    How can that be avoided?

    How do you usually zip your stuff?

  2. #2
    logologologooooo kosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    europe
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's an option in winzip, something like "keep the hierarchy". You should be able to spot it easily

    Regards

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    blahblahblah
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi I'm sorry but I can't even manage to zip anything.

    It's like... it doesn't appear nowhere...

    Can someone take my hand and show me the way? I'm lost...

    How can zip a file?

    It seems so easy but I've tried pretty much everything.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard mark_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using windows XP.

    - Mark

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    blahblahblah
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes I am

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    blahblahblah
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no one?

    Is there another tool than winzip?


  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard mark_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can zip a file just using windows XP.

    Right click the files, then send to, then compressed zip file. Either that or try googling for winrar!

    - Mark

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    blahblahblah
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    still have the folder problem.

    Everything is flat... all the files are in the root of compressed file

    thanks for your support mark

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    blahblahblah
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry, my problem was with winzip when I was extracting the compressed files.

    it's fine now.

    thanks mark.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard mark_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,631
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No problem!

    - Mark


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •