User Tag List

Setting up a connection... mgyth's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How would you define talent?

How would you define talent?
    How would you define not having any talent at all?
    What makes a talented php programmer for instance?

I'm asking this, not because I think I'm very talented, I know I'm not a rocket scientist. But I'm trying to learn php and find it very hard to measure my progress, since I have nobody to compare myself with.

How long did it take you to learn php?
    In my case i haven't programmed anything before, and have to learn everything from scratch.
    If anyone of you have been in my situation, how long time did it take you to 'learn' php.

Also when writing this i realized another question, when have you learned php? Is it enough to have a basic knowledge and a general understanding, so you can just look it up if there is anythig you are unsure of?
    Or do you have to know it all by hart?

Anyways, alot of abstract questions here. Appreciate you thoughts

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

Quote Originally Posted by mgyth
    In my case i haven't programmed anything before, and have to learn everything from scratch.
    If anyone of you have been in my situation, how long time did it take you to 'learn' php.
    I started out to learn PHP in october 2002, and had never worked with any dynamic scripting language before. I would say that it took me about six months before I felt that I really knew what I was doing, and that I could write scripts without any help at all.

Yours, Erik.
    ERIK RIKLUND :: Yes, I've been gone quite a while.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would define talent exactly as in the dictionary. To me a talented person is someone who can create stunning accomplishments independently (without the help of others).