SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    West Coxsackie, NY
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not very good at the back end of web design, so here is the question. We have a contractor who will keep a whole motors database on his site but we want people to come to it from our site, without them being ticked that they are being directed to another site.

    We were thinking that if our site were www.anyplace.org and we added a subdirectory to www.anyplace.org/motors we could have it automatically go to their site.

    Is this possible? Is it a script?

    Thank you for any ideas.

    Pat

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, England.
    Posts
    209
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This?

    <META http-equiv="refresh" content="0; URL=http://www.anyplace.org/motors">

    It goes into your index of anyplace.org
    Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.

  3. #3
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    another way would be to use a server-side scripting language.

    I would say php.

    using:

    PHP Code:
    <?php

    //index.php
    header("Location: urltofile.htm");
    exit();

    ?>
    the transition is totally seamless. you won't hear the 'tick' sound (hey.my comps produces that sound) like in a meta redirect. you won't even see the page, just the new url
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    You talkin to me? Anarchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ignore this.

  5. #5
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol
    i was editing it.
    vbulletin automatically added the [url] code...
    *bleh* i just realise the [checkbox] for 'Automatically Parse URLs

    opps. nonetheless, i've already changed to a standard filename


    anarchos! the moment i reply, you edited your post.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    You talkin to me? Anarchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lol =)

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    West Coxsackie, NY
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thank you....

    Thanks for the responses - I've given them to our IT person and we'll try both of them - thanks again - pat


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •