SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Is PHP better than .JSP?

Hello,

I am having a new site programmed.. it will be a networking site for professionals. However, I am clue less with the whole PHP vs .JSP thing..

I hear .jsp is faster than .php? when it comes to huge databases sucha s friendster.. Please give me advice. I am a designer and not a programmer

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Database size should have nothing to do with the server-side language you choose. The basic breakdown is that PHP is easier to learn but a little harder to maintain than JSP, and JSP has more of a learning curve but is preferred by more for larger web apps. Don't take what I just said as an absolute though: you can build a big site with PHP or a small site with JSP, and you can write great PHP code or horrible Java code. Take a look at both and use the one you're more comfortable with.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by meka2003
    Is PHP better than .JSP?
    i'd say yes:

http://www.tiobe.com/tpci.htm
    TIOBE Programming Community Index for January 2005
    January Headline: PHP awarded programming language of 2004

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is gonna be a long thread............

I would say if you aren't a programmer, go with PHP because you don't have to work with different applications server, JNI etc.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not a programmer.. Im actually hiring people to do it.. but uhh, its going to be a big site with lot of users.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    <ignore me>
    Use Lisp!
    </ignore me>

--ed

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by coo_t2
    <ignore me>
    Use Lisp!
    </ignore me>

--ed
    Did somebody just say something?