User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Query taking forever!

I run a connection testing site, and when my users test various aspects of the test are logged. This is a very new feature I have added to my site, and I am not an expert in SQL, but am getting much better every day. My new DB has already grown to 1.5 million entries but with the indexes I have most routine queries are running well under 0.3 sec, some more complex or multiple queries in the same script are running at about 0.5-1.1 sec -- all thanks to our buddy INDEXING - BUT the following query is still taking too much time.

This query is taking 5-6 seconds to complete, I have a very fast dedicated server (dual XEON 2.8GHz) - User_Host is indexed.

SELECT `User_Host`, round(avg(`Test_Score`)) AS Score, COUNT(`User_Host`) AS Count FROM `Master` WHERE `Date` >= '$date_0' AND `Test_Type` = 'download' GROUP BY `User_Host` HAVING Count >= 1000 ORDER BY Score DESC LIMIT 10
    End result is a list of ISP's ordered by speed (based upon tests performed at my site)

example (crudely pasted):
    Top Ten Providers (ordered by Download Speed)
    Rank Provider Average Download Speed ~ 30 Day Test Count
    1 optonline.net 4505 Kbps or 550 KB/s 1699
    2 cox.net 3253 Kbps or 397 KB/s 10480
    3 insightBB.com 3108 Kbps or 379 KB/s 1666
    4 mindspring.com 3034 Kbps or 370 KB/s 1760
    5 attbi.com 2667 Kbps or 326 KB/s 3703
    6 comcast.net 2621 Kbps or 320 KB/s 17880
    7 adelphia.net 2550 Kbps or 311 KB/s 10208
    8 rr.com 2477 Kbps or 302 KB/s 8633
    9 rogers.com 2290 Kbps or 280 KB/s 1885
    10 charter.com 2265 Kbps or 276 KB/s 2810

Where am I going wrong in my syntax? I have read and read mySQL documentation and am now pulling out my hair.