SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard mcsolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hermosa Costa Rica
    Posts
    1,710
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can I drop all those extra SQL tables?

    I just created a few databases in the SQL server ent. manager and I was wondering about all these extra tables that came in by default. Is there any inherent functions I am going to be messing with if I dropped them all?

    I just want to start with a clean DB .. there is more junk tables here than in the whole design I have that I want to import.

    If I dont need these, how do I create just a blank empty DB ?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard swdev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,053
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No - you can't drop those tables. They are used internally by the dabase management system itself to hold data about the tables you create.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard mcsolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hermosa Costa Rica
    Posts
    1,710
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. Sounds like the trademark MS work. I feel a little intruded upon having more tables in my database than my own work allows me for. Especially since I spent so much time trying to keep the number down to 9 tables to get blasted like that with all these extra views / tables etc. You start with an instant MS based mess .. wonderful.

    You simply cant do anything simple with ms .. hehe. Just touching their sw and its like a cluster bomb goes off on your app.

    Thanks for the info I guess they stay .. errrrr

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard swdev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,053
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AFAIK, all database management systems(DBMS) have tables like these. They are used to hold information about the tables, keys, indices etc. that you create in the database. Without these tables, you wouldn't have a DMBS.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru asterix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The system tables are only shown if you clicked the checkbox "Show System databases and system objects" when registering the DB server in Enterprise Manager.

    Yes you can edit the data in them. But then your DB is totally eRaz0red.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard mcsolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hermosa Costa Rica
    Posts
    1,710
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like I will just leave those the heck alone. Thanks for explaining it a little here. I wasn't too happy to see all those in there .. but oh well.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •