User Tag List

Thread: Code Clean Up

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Code Clean Up

I have no experience dealing with programing whatsoever and I am paying to have a website created for me. I'm not soliciting for your business I just wanted to understand how a designer may feel about what I plan to do.

Once my initial designer is done I want to have two or three other designers look at it to get their feedback and ideas about how some processes can be streamlined.

This leads me to two questions.

1) Would you, as a coder, want to look through and possibly clean up someone else code? Payment would be involved for review and the work.

2) If you were the initial designer would you take offense to a client doing this with a product of yours?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by laidbackfella
    1) Would you, as a coder, want to look through and possibly clean up someone else code? Payment would be involved for review and the work.
    Generally yes. It certainly depends on the context (size of code/project, kind of compensation, .....).

2) If you were the initial designer would you take offense to a client doing this with a product of yours?
    To be honest? Yeah, I think at least a little bit.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by drzoid
    To be honest? Yeah, I think at least a little bit.
    Would that prevent you from working with that client in the future?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would that prevent you from working with that client in the future?
    I cant say that in general. It depends on the overall relationship with the client, my mood , the project itself, his/her reason for doing that, the other developer's conclusion , ......