SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to activate animated GIFs in Internet Explorer

    Does anyone know where I can activate animated GIFs in Internet Explorer?
    My browser doesn't seem to play these anymore. They're all static.
    .

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    €uroLand
    Posts
    1,340
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a setting called "Play animations in web pages" in Tools-Internet Options-Advanced-Multimedia. I am not sure whether it will fix that but you can see whether it might be disabled on your machine.

  3. #3
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the tip...I checked and it has not been disabled, so that shouldn't be it.
    .

  4. #4
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's strange...I re-booted my PC and now everything is fine.
    I guess Bill's system just needs to be re-started every once in a while.

    I usually do that every 2 or 3 days anyway...Just for the Halibut
    .

  5. #5
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Somehow, or another, I'm back to this same problem of not being able to see animated GIFs in Internet Explorer. They are just static images.

    I checked "Play animations in web pages" in Tools-Internet Options-Advanced-Multimedia, and it is checked so I know that setting is OK.

    Anyone have any idea about any other settings that may be causing this?
    .

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard Lats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Many problems can be solved by deleting the temporary internet files bucket.

    Tools -> Internet Options -> Delete Files -> OK

    Worth a try
    Lats...

  7. #7
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, but that didn't work. It's got to be something simple that I'm missing here. Most problems are, AFTER they get figured out...
    .

  8. #8
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another strange thing about this deal is...I can see animated GIFs just fine when I'm previewing a webpage in Internet Explorer, when the page is on my local machine and not live on the net.

    I just found this out moments ago as I was updating a customer's site. He has this little "NEW" graphic he likes to have next to new listings and it works fine...until I upload it to his site and view it on the internet instead of previewing it from my machine.

    Everybody ought to have 18 computers!
    .

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict Kakarot720's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rockerz,

    Are you running XP? I have a client who is having the same problem.

  10. #10
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes. XP Professional...

    But, I've got it fixed now. I re-installed everything, and I'm glad I did because I went ahead and got all the updates that Bill is offering for this 0/S (SP2)

    Actually, my PC has never run better.

    After I installed everything, including all my programs, I took a snap shot of my hard drive with my Acronis True Image 8 program, so I can restore my system to it's fresh install state anytime I want. I'm all set.

    Just tell 'em to re-install. It would probably help their system anyway considering it's Windows!
    .

  11. #11
    ..back with a vengeance... Ingoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Benningen, Germany
    Posts
    6,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    Another solution to most IE-related problems is to use another browser, ever heard of Firefox?


    Glad that you found a solution to the problem, although a reinstall is probably the last resort and so it's probably not the best solution for everyone...
    Advisor - Community Team
    CHD-magician + + =
    Some of my sites: [1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10]
    Newest site: ZZ.GD - t dsn't gt mch shrtr thn tht

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict Kakarot720's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My clients problem turned out to be Zone Alarm related. Not sure if you're running that or not Rockerz, but I'm glad you got it fixed either way.

    Thanx!!

  13. #13
    Extremists Beware! Rockrz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In God's Country!
    Posts
    1,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's very easy to do, and most people would benefit from having a fresh install...I recommend it to all my friends
    .


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •