User Tag List

Thread: career path?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

career path?

hey guys,

currently im studying in my degree year on a BSc Computing for Internet and Multimedia course. The course is aimed to those interested in programming, systems development and web development.

after sitting my assessed lab for my internet based programming class i recieved the highest mark in class by a large margin and the lecturer was also very impressed with my work. he told me it would be a waste of my talent not to get involved with the webdesign sector. and i would easily take this as my career path as i really enjoy everything about it.

however all the positions i see advertized require a few years experience and also huge list of skills required. while im very fast at learning and do not have problems grasping new things. i simply do not have time to go learn lots of other web techologies and languages. i do already possess knowledge off xhtml, css, php, javascript, visual basic and java, and also have a few years experience designing systems and databases for university projects.

what would be the best way to go about getting a webdesign role once i've graduated? design some sites for free as portfolio work, develop some applications using different methodologys?

anyway enough rambling on, look forward to your suggestions thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you get a 1:1, 1:2, or a 2:1 in your degree, you could try the graduate sector, for example I've heard "BT Syntegra" have a good graduate sector - I've tried for three years to get a role with them, but unfortuently unless you have Java, you won't be successful with them.

Try all the graduate packages, but if you have a 2:2 (like me), you'll struggle to get anywhere.