SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Rate my resume please

Here's my revised resume I've completed today... please criticize to the harshest intents possible as I am praying to be able to get a real job sometime soon, and want to do whatever I can to make sure my resume is 100% perfect. Basically, I just want potential employers to realize that I'm an exceptionally qualified programmer that could do great with the right guidance.... I'm already pretty much way ahead of my peers from college in terms of abilities and knowledge, and would like them to know that (sadly, my GPA doesnt reflect that as I spent too much time doing freelance projects than working on coursework, but maintaining my presidential scholarship counts for something, doesnt it?)

I'll be sending the resumes out on that special expensive yellow resume paper, this is basically just a comp I put up on my site and most likely will probably be linked to on the actual one in small print.

Also, any resources around here on how to write an effective cover letter?

Thanks in advance,
    JC

http://216.138.43.178/resume/resume.php

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    whats an employer gona view your resume in xml for?

objectives are quite useless

move education last

increase font size

make black + white, remove all excess graphics

focus on how you helped the people you worked for

thats in my opinion, too fancy and interactive, get to the point.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "and it's clients."

ITS, not it's. Very common mistake.

And what is your experience with those skills? Are you an expert on all those languages or what? Or do you just overload it with languages to impress someone? (With the latter being what your boss will think of it when he sees this.)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)