SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to take a screenshot of the Alt-Tab context switcher in Windows?

    Title says it all.

    I've been trying to Print Screen it, but obviously doing that dismissed the context switcher thingie.

    Any ideas anyone?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    2,240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're incredibly desperate you could try this...there might be a much quicker way though!

    Set up a VNC server on the machine you want to get the screenshot from and connect to it from another machine. You could take the screenshot on the other computer if you got someone else to hold down Alt+Tab for you

    Only way I can think of doing it I'm afraid...

    -Sam
    Sam Hastings

  3. #3
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

    I got it to work by holding down (alt) then push (tab) one time, then click (ctrl+print screen) at the exact same time.

    Hope it helps.

    Johnny

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys.

    VNC will be my last act of desperation Sam I'd never have thought of that though... Clever!

    Johnny, I tried that but it didn't work. Does it happen everytime or after a few times of trial and error? Also, what does Ctrl+Print Screen do (compared to just Print Screen)?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard samsm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    5,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Digital camera.
    Using your unpaid time to add free content to SitePoint Pty Ltd's portfolio?

  6. #6
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by redemption
    Johnny, I tried that but it didn't work. Does it happen everytime or after a few times of trial and error? Also, what does Ctrl+Print Screen do (compared to just Print Screen)?
    It seems to be just a stroke of luck that I got it to work, because I cannot do it a second time

    The (ctrl+PS) is just the way I was shown to do it, I had no idea I did not have to push ctrl also I have yet again learned something new here at Sitepoint

    Johnny

  7. #7
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Alt & Printscreen takes a capture of just the active window But that doesn't help with the problem at hand...
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  8. #8
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It works for me if I press alt+tab and keep holding alt, but I have got the fancy alt-tab doodad

    Sean
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool

    works as long as you only have one row of open programs and you are on IE, not outlook or another program. was able to duplicate this process

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Nantwich, Cheshire
    Posts
    453
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What about something like CamStudio, (http://camstudio.org/), take a movie of the screen, then grab a screen shot of the movie? I've never tried this particular product, but it sounds like it might do the trick.
    http://www.firenza.net - my homage to a car from the 1970s

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy rushiku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A van down by the river
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Had no problem getting just the switcher. Due to having to hold down alt, I couldn't get a full screen print, though, if that's what's wanted, you could do 2 captures and overlay the switcher.

    Method: press and hold alt, press and release tab, press and release print screen, paste into Paint or whatever.

    OS: Vista SP2 (tried it on XP SP2, did not work...)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •