SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Thread: How to Insert?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question How to Insert?

Hello. I am new to SQL. I am trying to use Microsoft access as MySql.

INSERT INTO table_name (First Name, Last Name, Phone Number, Email, Gender, Code)
    VALUES (Firstname, Lastname, Phonenumber, Email, Gender, Code )

I got that code. But what i want it do, is that the user will input the information into the text boxes and then it will input it into MySql database. The textboxes names are Firstname, Lastname, Phonenumber, Email, Gender, Code. So as far as i now this should work. Except where do i insert this. So that it actually does what i tell it to?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What server side language are you using?

All server side languages will have a means of getting the values from the text boxes into a variable. Then you construct a string based on the query you have given.

Some data intergrity checking should be used so you don't poke rubbish into to your database and that malicious people don't do bad things with your server.

Mike

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why are you using M$ Access instead of MySQL?
    I have a laptop with 128 MB Ram an a running XP Pro, Apache2, MySQL and PHP quite happily. It makes a wonderful testing environment, occassionaly slows down with a bit of disk thrashing, but much better than using M$ Access (IMHO).

However, if you really need to use M$ Access, then you need to create a DSN (Data SourceName) in Windoze to access the mdb file - use Control Panel / ODBC to create a DSN. I haven't used M$ Access for several years, so I might be a little out of date with how to create a DSN.

The you need to use the ODBC functions of PHP to create a connection using that DSN.
    Look at the user notes for [/fphp]odbc_open[/fphp] for further help.