User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Red face footer problems in IE/FF - js problem in FF

Hi,
    I followed Paul O'Bs template from this page, and am having problems pushing my footer below my contents (bottom of page). I wasnt expecting this to magically work for my page, as I do have images. I have tried, now I seem to be stuck.

Test page is [removed]
    CSS link is [removed]

1) My footer looks the same in both FF & IE6, I cant seem to figure out how to get it to the bottom. Ive tried everything under the sun, but maybe my code is semantically incorrect elsewhere.

2) Other than my footer problems, Im having a javascript problem in FF. For my clock, the year displays as 104 and the time does not show. Any ideas??

What can i say, im a dumb newbie, lol. I would appreciate any help, though.
    Last edited by MarlboroMan; Dec 13, 2004 at 23:54.

The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

You don't believe in making things easy for yourself do you

I have to wonder why you are using one of the more complicated layouts when you don't need seem to need its features. As your background is the same colour throughout then you don't need to worry about equalising columns. All you need do is float the left and right columns normally without thy negative margin technique and without the margins on outer. You just then set the footer to clear:both and it remains below all three columns.

The negative margin technique is a way for a side column to push the centre contents background downwards at the same time as stretching itself to imitate equalising columns. You don't need this technique and your layout would be simper without it.