SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Netscape Tables

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member lark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I was wondering if anyone knew a webpage that showed how to do tables in netscape? I've been working on the layout of my site, but I can't get the tables to appear correctly in netscape. They only appear correct in IE, which is starting to annoy me. I don't know if there is a type of webpage out there that does this, but if anyone knows, could you send it my way? Thanks!

    Lark

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Earth
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    here's a page you might want to look at about tables:

    http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/authoring/tables/

    the structure for tables is the same for both netscape and internet explorer, but ie is probably rendering your tables despite the errors. you definitely should try to fix the problem.

    Jason Weinstein
    webmaster@MaximumEdge.com
    http://www.MaximumEdge.com/

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member lark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thanks

    Thanks! I appreciate the fast response. I'll take a look at the page now.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot DarkMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That the problem with IE, it isn't strict enough so people get into bad coding practice.

    Chances are your not closing your <TR> and <TD> tags.
    *DO* close everything.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member lark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually,

    My tags are all closed and evertying . I usually code for netscape anyways cause if it looks right in netscape, it'll look right in IE. Just this time, I couldn't get the spacing of the tables to look correctly.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot DarkMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lucky I said probably then.

    Tables will never look pixel perfect on both, but you can get them pretty damn near. Make sure you add the width atribute to both the <TABLE> and <TD> tags.

    *sometimes* you might just have missed out a closing " or something, say <table width="100> it happens, and sometimes IE lets you get away with it.

    Anyway, I'm out of ideas. I'm sure it would help more if you posted links to the pages.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member lark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, I got it to work now. Thanks! Just some minor misuse of the width attributes.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •