SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 122

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to bypass popup blockers ?

    Some of us display important content in popups..but all the popup-killers makes regular javascript popups useless...

    Are there any workarounds ?

    Like to link to the popup with a regular link to a new window which has a js that makes that window resize, position and remove un-neccesary browser toolbars ?

    Any enlightment would be very appreciated

    John

  2. #2
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If your link is activated onclick or via some other user-initiated action, it should not be blocked by a popup blocker.

  3. #3
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ahem...

    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    If your link is activated onclick or via some other user-initiated action, it should not be blocked by a popup blocker.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    really ? I was under the impression that it killed some of the user initiated poups too, cause I see many sites who ask people to turn off popupkillers.

    If the poup is initiated from java aplett, quicktime or flash is it then concidered user initiated ?

    John

  5. #5
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are workarounds - like the code Sitepoint uses to popup its subscribe box.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard maartenvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,679
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    There are workarounds - like the code Sitepoint uses to popup its subscribe box.
    For me the SP pop-ups get blocked! IE blocks it and if they don't get it my Google toolbar does! I don't think I have seen one pop-up since the new service pack in Win XP!! I am VERY happy about that!
    Maarten

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thx Dave, gotta check it out....I`m newbee here...where may i find the subscribe feature / code ??

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    3,537
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some of us display important content in popups...
    Users disagree with you on that. Users do not want any popups, so maybe you should try to accomodate them to get better results. I use FF1.0 and I rarely get any popups, and I couldn't be happier. I don't care if your site wants to show me a map to a sunken Gallion with 10,000 gold coins in its cargo hold--if it's in a popup, I don't want to see it.

    As an alternative, you could use popup divs: toggle between display:none and display: absolute. I'll gladly take a look at your treasure map then.

  9. #9
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by 7stud
    Users disagree with you on that. Users do not want any popups, so maybe you should try to accomodate them to get better results. I use FF1.0 and I rarely get any popups, and I couldn't be happier. I don't care if your site wants to show me a map to a sunken Gallion with 10,000 gold coins in its cargo hold--if it's in a popup, I don't want to see it.

    As an alternative, you could use popup divs: toggle between display:none and display: absolute. I'll gladly take a look at your treasure map then.
    So users want popup divs?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict myrdhrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    211
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    So users want popup divs?
    Hum... popup div that don't stop you from using the content .. yes... but all those anoying adds that show up in a div in the middle of the text you're trying to read as even more anyong that plain popups. A popup window you can remove ... a div in the document right in the middle of your text you can't (unless whoever designed it provided you with a way to get rid of it)

    Just my 2cents
    Jean-Marc (aka Myrdhrin)
    M2i3 - blog - Protect your privacy with Zliki

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Dulles Virginia
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We address this problem and provide a few anti-blocker solutions and workarounds at www.adoutput.com. One of the easiest things to do is double check to make sure the popup has successfully launched, and if it hasn't serve a dhtml layer with your pop in that. This technique works for both ads and for informational pops.

    Our current version of the code serves popups automatically past ie plugin blockers, sp2 (user interaction or layer conversion), mozilla (user interaction or layer conversion), and opera (user interaction or layer conversion). The next version we're currently working on serves popups directly through mozilla and opera with no user interaction required.

    Advertisements are there for a reason and as long as popups are done responsibly they are a perfectly fine medium.

  12. #12
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by myrdhrin
    Hum... popup div that don't stop you from using the content .. yes... but all those anoying adds that show up in a div in the middle of the text you're trying to read as even more anyong that plain popups. A popup window you can remove ... a div in the document right in the middle of your text you can't (unless whoever designed it provided you with a way to get rid of it)

    Just my 2cents
    I don't think I've ever seen a popup div that doesn't get in the way of the content you're trying to see. All these popup blockers are just causing advertisers to use additional methods.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote:
    Some of us display important content in popups...


    Users disagree with you on that. Users do not want any popups, so maybe you should try to accomodate them to get better results. I use FF1.0 and I rarely get any popups, and I couldn't be happier. I don't care if your site wants to show me a map to a sunken Gallion with 10,000 gold coins in its cargo hold--if it's in a popup, I don't want to see it.
    I make 360 virtual tours, and with nav, maps, text-content and a decent sized windows and both qtvr and java solution, theres not room to put it in the webpage itself. Must be a "inline" frame possibly. Popups are good when used correctly...just wanna make sure I present them without quirks and problems for my audience...

    Another point is that the tours must be easy to implement for a sites webmasters...and then a popup served from my server is the best solution...

    John

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We may discuss pros and cons of popups but I`m wondering if there are safe solutions to make popups which are "wanted" display proper, whatever popupkiller the browser may have... ??

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast lauriek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jojn M
    We may discuss pros and cons of popups but I`m wondering if there are safe solutions to make popups which are "wanted" display proper, whatever popupkiller the browser may have... ??
    Don't you think that if such a facility existed that the spam/adware floggers would set their popups to be 'wanted'? Or do you think they would say to themselves "no, my popup wouldn't be wanted by users so I'll leave it set as an 'unwanted' popup"?

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ahem ?

    I read "should" as not supposed to, not like "will not"....with a zillion different popup killers and people reporting that even regular links in new window being stopped , and it "should" not happen, so it may be reason to ask after all...or ??

    these problems are reported in some of the other threads in "Similar Threads"...

    John

  17. #17
    SitePoint Addict Synaesthesiac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    359
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jojn M
    ahem ?

    I read "should" as not supposed to, not like "will not"....with a zillion different popup killers and people reporting that even regular links in new window being stopped , and it "should" not happen, so it may be reason to ask after all...or ??

    these problems are reported in some of the other threads in "Similar Threads"...

    John
    John is right.... I recently built a site with user-initiated popups (for viewing detailed images of thumbnails) and while they didn't get blocked 90% of the time, my Google toolbar randomly blocked the other 10%.
    Danielion
    Imagine a world without hypothetical scenarios...

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Dulles Virginia
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Synaesthesiac
    John is right.... I recently built a site with user-initiated popups (for viewing detailed images of thumbnails) and while they didn't get blocked 90% of the time, my Google toolbar randomly blocked the other 10%.

    Most blockers use a time scheme for determining when a pop should be loaded. A very short timer is started when a link is clicked, and if a pop is triggered before the timer is up it gets displayed. This methodology causes all sorts of problems with slow computers. In addition, any function that delays execution of the pop script (even if it is within the timer) will reset the timer. Ie, SetTimeout with a value of 1 ms.

    It's also been my experience that Google just gets confused and starts blocking all pops until the browser is restarted. I thought this may have been just a local occurance as I haven't heard it elsewhere.

  19. #19
    Free Geek computerages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    1,071
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jojn M
    Some of us display important content in popups..but all the popup-killers makes regular javascript popups useless...

    Are there any workarounds ?

    Like to link to the popup with a regular link to a new window which has a js that makes that window resize, position and remove un-neccesary browser toolbars ?

    Any enlightment would be very appreciated

    John
    here ya go

    http://phpbuddy.com/article.php?id=20

  20. #20
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If I have popups completely disabled, why would you want to force one on me?

  21. #21
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeFoster
    If I have popups completely disabled, why would you want to force one on me?
    Conversely, why would you force yourself on a site that uses popups to get revenue to pay for hosting, design, maintenance, etc.

  22. #22
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    Conversely, why would you force yourself on a site that uses popups to get revenue to pay for hosting, design, maintenance, etc.
    Off Topic:

    Why wouldn't a webmaster find a better revenue source?

  23. #23
    Non-Member DaveMichaels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    Off Topic:

    Why wouldn't a webmaster find a better revenue source?
    Such as?

  24. #24
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    Such as?
    Selling your own products, or at the very least, less obtrusive and annoying advertising.

  25. #25
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMichaels
    Conversely, why would you force yourself on a site that uses popups to get revenue to pay for hosting, design, maintenance, etc.
    Well, you could make it so that visitors to your site don't get all the content unless they accept the popup.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jojn M
    would it be possible to serve content of your dhtml popups ?
    Oops, I'm busted! Yes, I've written a dhtml popup object.
    It's an iframe wrapped in a div - a simple idea really. Yes, you can serve content in it. But that object may not be exactly what you need, altho you could make use of the "iframe wrapped in a div" concept. Be aware that many browsers give the user control over iframes as well. So... I don't know if it would be worth the effort.
    Thanks


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •