SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can Anyone Help me

    I am getting this error message when trying to go to my site.

    Database error: cannot use database passionate_true
    MySQL Error: 1044 (Access denied for user: '@localhost' to database 'passiona_hearts')
    Session halted.

    Also I created another database in myadminphp and this came up

    $dbh=mysql_connect ("localhost", "passiona_laflair", "<PASSWORD HERE>") or die ('I cannot connect to the database because: ' . mysql_error());
    mysql_select_db ("passiona_hearts");

    Am I supposed to insert this somewhere in the code? I am getting confused but making progress. By accident of course.

    Passionate_true was my database with my old host if that helps any.
    Thanks In Advance

    David

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict Ramiro S's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using cPanel or something?

    check that the username you are using can connect from localhost and that it has enough priviledges to connect.
    Quasar - Web Development - Free Avatars

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I am using cPanel and i have the username being able to access all functions. I have been working on this for 2 days and getting very frustrated. A freind told me that all I needed was the ip addy from my old host? will that work? Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks for the response
    Thanks In Advance

    David

  4. #4
    Non-Member bronze trophy geniusgoalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, USA
    Posts
    979
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    could you please provide us with some code, its kind of hard to diagnose without it.
    Also, to start with the very obvious, does the database even exist?
    I have put myself into a tizzy before when trying to find where my php error was, and I simply had misspelled the database name

  5. #5
    $this->toCD-R(LP); vinyl-junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Federal Way, Washington (USA)
    Posts
    1,524
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might need to check with your web host on this. It's possible that your database name doesn't have a prefix anymore. The prefix on the code you gave is passiona, and is usually your web host username. Also, your server address might not be "localhost" if the database is on a different server than your website.

    You should be able to see all these settings in phpMyAdmin, but if you don't understand what you're looking at, check with your web host. They'll be able to clear up the mystery for you.

    Hope this helps.
    Music Around The World - Collecting tips, trade
    and want lists, album reviews, & more
    Showcase your music collection on the Web

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Im sorry to all those who posted earlier. I fixed the problem I had to re upload the database to the new server with my old username and pw and then change them after the upload.

    Thanks to all who tried to help and point me in the right direction.
    Thanks In Advance

    David


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •