SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: frontpage & PHP

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot Kyle_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can someone please infighting me on the negative aspects of using Frontpage in regards to PHP.


    thanks


  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can someone help Kyle out?

    Kyle...there are very few people on this board that use Frontpage. We'll try to get one of them into this thread.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot Kyle_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your help creole"

    I have Ben hearing tibbits on this subject but nothing that tells me why you should not mix the two.


  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think that FrontPage is a messy HTML editor. They say it's supposed to be especially good for beginners, but I disagree. It's just too messy and hard to understand. I've Namo WebEditor for over a year now, and wouldn't trade it in for any fancy Editor, even Dreamweaver. Just my 2 cents

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your input Dim, Kyle wasn't necessarily looking for a new editor. He's just looking for a way to extend the functionality of the one he has.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FrontPage really shouldn't be used with PHP - I don't see any advantage in using it over a text editor like, say, Notepad, or some kind of souped-up freeware alternative. Just stick with a text editor with color coding - FP has some built in functionality when using ASP, but definintely not PHP.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh ok. Well, like TWTCommish said, I would use a text edit for PHP.. like UltraEdit or EditPlus2.. but I don't really know much about FP..
    sorry

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot Kyle_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm a little confused here." Is it OK to Design my page in FP for the look then use notepad to work with PHP? I can't see how someone could get a good look from just a text editor.

    Forgive me "I'm very new to all this PHP just trying to learn"

    Thanks


  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kyle, I think you can. Infact, that's exactly what I do.
    I use Namo to throw everything on there, and then I use UltraEdit to put the final touches on the code.. or if I really got to get in there to dig something up.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot Kyle_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that helps alittle dim, Thanks"

    Anymore input would be very much appreciated.

    Thanks everone..


  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kyle...almost EVERY professional web developer uses a text editor to "get a good look"

    YOu would be well served to use Frontpage for the basics, then switch to a text editor to get the specifics.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  12. #12
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What you need to do is learn HTML to a point where you don't have to use a crutch like FP to make a site.

    If you don't have a firm grasp on HTML or would not feel comfortable coding it in a text editor environment you will most likely not have success in any more advanced topics such as PHP.
    Chris Beasley - I publish content and ecommerce sites.
    Featured Article: Free Comprehensive SEO Guide
    My Guide to Building a Successful Website
    My Blog|My Webmaster Forums

  13. #13
    SitePoint Zealot Kyle_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your input aspen

    Is this truly necessary "Learn HTML before attempting to take on PHP"? No offence to anyone reading this, I truly see that many of you are blessed with above average skills”. But. I'm not setting out to become a designer " I'm just in need of enough to make this site a workable, manageable resource to my profession.


  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good post Kyle...

    Do you need to know HTML before you can use PHP?

    No...no matter what other people say. I know sevaral programmers that can't code HTML to save their lives, but they can program in Perl or Javascript like a MOFO.

    So that's the answer to that question...or is it?

    You don't HAVE to know HTML, but since PHP IS a web-based language, all of us would strongly suggest that you learn HTML. Especially since much of what PHP does is output HTML.

    However, I think what Chris was trying to get across is that if you don't have a good handle on coding in general, ie: the rules, the syntax, the clean code, then PHP will be difficult for you.

    you grok?
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  15. #15
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't have to know HTML to learn PHP, but you DO have to know basic HTML. Many things you do in PHP will output HTML, and as such you need to have a basic understanding of how HTML works. For example - you write a PHP script that outputs a number of entries from a database into an HTML table. In order to do this you will need a loop in the PHP script that outputs a line of the table at a time - and to do that you will need basic understanding of how the HTML for a table row works.

    There is no reason not to do most of the design work and HTML for a PHP powered site in Frontpage, Dreamweaver or whatever - however if you have no knowledge of HTML what so ever you will have great trouble writing PHP scripts that generate dynamic HTML.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Zealot Kyle_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Assuming I need only certain produces i.e. vbulletin & vbportal how heard would this be to work with? I need not install them (have it being done) but will need to set everything up as well as administrate them. Will I need to be that knowledgeable with PHP & HTML ?

    thanks everyone I really appreciate your feedback.


  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it all depends on whether you will want to get into the backend code and fiddle.

    For example, Sitepoint uses vBulletin, but they have changed and modified quite heavily the original source. If you didn't know how to edit HTML or PHP then that option would not be open to you personally.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  18. #18
    Blissed off
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    WSYWG editors

    If you are gonna use a visual type editor, you would be better off using something like Dreamweaver 4. It let's you edit code in a split screen if you want. Frontpage 2000 generates yucky code that only works well on internet explorer. FP2000 also has a tendency to produce pages that all look very much the same. Not good if you want your page to be creative and unique...

  19. #19
    SitePoint Zealot Kyle_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I truly appreciate everyone input on this thread" I think I have a better understanding on what is needed to know regarding Front-page and PHP.
    Last edited by Kyle_C; Apr 21, 2001 at 09:05.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •