SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member NoAngels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hello,

    if you could go to http://novacaine.net/main.html
    and press F11 on your keypad, you see the page by full screen mode.
    what's interesting is that the page of content is placed exactly in the middle! for most of the sites, the contents usually stay at the top of the window. anyone knows how to achieve that?


    thanx in advance

  2. #2
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is done using frames and percentages. Personally, I think it is a big price to pay for getting something centred in the middle of the page. However, if this is the effect you wish to achieve then try and find out a little bit more about frames as this is how that site is done.

  3. #3
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To do that, frames would be the idea choice.
    Else, all thos emathematics and resizing code would make you go crazy =)
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict Percipient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Summerland, BC, Canada.
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It can also be done by placing the content into a table. Then you nest the content table into another table with valign="middle" and height="100%", so the content table will stay in the middle of the entire window. At least I think that will work. I've not tried it, and I may be flawed, which happens at later hours.
    Ed Rands

  5. #5
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You definately do not need frames.

    Simply create a table with a height of 100% and a cell with a valign of middle

    Code:
    <html>
    <body>
    
    <table border="0" width="100%" height="100%">
    <tr>
    <td valign="middle" align="center">
    This text is in the very centre of the screen.
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    
    </body>
    </html>
    PS I am against frames ever since I saw my first ever frames site about what - 5? - years ago.
    Last edited by mmj; Apr 17, 2001 at 04:17.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  6. #6
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mmj
    PS I am against frames ever since I saw my first ever frames site about what - 5? - years ago.
    While I don't use frames, I never left out that option. Frames give you control, and style when used properly.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Frames are not evil...designers who don't know how to use frames PROPERLY are evil...

    MMJ...
    I am pretty sure that Netscape does not support the height attribute for tables. Give it a shot though and let me know.

    By the way...this is the frameset for that site that you posted.

    <html>
    <head>
    <TITLE>ame // rain</TITLE>
    </head>
    <FRAMESET ROWS="*,420,*" FRAMEBORDER="NO" border="0">
    <FRAME NAME="thrd" target="gdrfjtr" SRC="black.html" scrolling="no">
    <FRAME NAME="thrd" target="gdrfjtr" SRC="steamframe.html" scrolling="no">
    <FRAME NAME="thrd" target="gdrfjtr" SRC="black.html" scrolling="no">
    </FRAMESET>

    </html>
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  8. #8
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Post Edited. Read below.

    // haha....netspcae does not support height..i can vouch for
    // that...I tried using it to no avail.
    //
    // Best I could do was set a &nbsp; and make the ofnt size
    // really small.... so the cell would 'crumple'..thats if you want
    // to make the hieght smaller then the standard...
    //
    // or greater hiehgts..you should know it just make the font
    // size bigger! or a space would do.

    pardon me. Its css that netscpae does not support for the height attribute. height in basic html is supported. just to clear things up
    Last edited by lynlimz; Apr 18, 2001 at 05:16.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict Percipient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Summerland, BC, Canada.
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by lynlimz
    haha....netspcae does not support height..i can vouch for that...I tried using it to no avail.
    Yet one more reason I prefer IE. But, I still have to design for Netscape, if I'm going to do it right.
    Ed Rands

  10. #10
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lynlimz and creole,

    My copies of netscape 4.7 and netscape 6 both DO support this.


    [edit]

    Actually, I agree that frames do have their place when used well. However I generally don't like browsing sites that have frames, due to minor problems with printing, viewing on a non-graphical browser (accessibility ), things like that.

    Probably, I'd say if what you are doing in frames can be done well in tables, use tables. Otherwise, use frames.
    Last edited by mmj; Apr 18, 2001 at 04:49.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  11. #11
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mmj,

    in which area of height does it work? darn....i'm gonna check it out

    oh my goosh..
    sorry.

    netscape 4 supports height attribute in html.
    however, css in height does not work for netscape 4.

    sorry to mess things up but its cleared now.
    thanks to mmj.
    Last edited by lynlimz; Apr 18, 2001 at 05:20.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  12. #12
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No worries lynlimz 8)

    Yes, I learnt to do that before I learnt CSS. It's annoying the way Netscape 4.x doesn't support some of the CSS things you would expect it to, isn't it?

    But then again, if you try to view the header and footer of these forums in netscape 4.7 you see a dog's breakfast.

    Because I don't know CSS too well, I tend to experiment until it looks good in all three of my browsers (IE5.5, NN4.7, NS6).
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  13. #13
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL
    you are right mmj =)
    thanks! ahah
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •