SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Thread: H2 or <th>

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

H2 or <th>

Hi Guys just geeting to CSS in a bit more depth thanks to many of you here. I have a question and that is as I understand it Google gives prominence to H tags h1 h2 h3 etc. Now I mark my header cells as <th> in the conventional way.

Does Google treat the <th> tag the same way it treats H tags.

Cheers Kili

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not an SEO expert, but I wouldn't think so.

<h2> indicates a level-2 heading in the document structure.
    <th> indicates a header cell in a (data) table.

I would expect a search engine to pay more attention to a heading than a table cell.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If it's a table of information then use the <th>, since that's what it is there for. If it's the title of some content that happens to be laid out in a table for some reason, then use <hx>.

He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You should design with your users in mind and not for the search engines. Designing for the search engines results in a lesser experience for your visitors and usually doesn't end up helping you in the SERPs. It's no coincidence that sites designed with usability, and accessibility, in mind tend to rank the highest in the SERPs and have long term success.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by stymiee
    You should design with your users in mind and not for the search engines. Designing for the search engines results in a lesser experience for your visitors and usually doesn't end up helping you in the SERPs. It's no coincidence that sites designed with usability, and accessibility, in mind tend to rank the highest in the SERPs and have long term success.