SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi

    I am in the early stages of developing a site. A feature I hope to include is prices from other sites. I am just wondering whether this is going to be feasable as I am going to need keep up to date prices on about 150 products from 10 different sites. I don't know if this possible but is there a way to automatically publish a price from another site, so when they change their price, the change will also take place on my site.

    Thanks alot

    Nick

  2. #2
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'll be very hard pressed to do this automatically without talking to the site's in question and seeing if they have a price feed somewhere you can use (XML or whatever). You could try and grab prices from their site by using regular expressions to grab them from the HTML of their pages, but this will be VERY hard, you'll have to rewrite it for each site you want to get info from and if the site redesigns it'll break your system.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you think that a big site like Cnet updates manually?

    Take a look

    http://shopper.cnet.com/shopping/res...128811,00.html

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can anyone help?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm almost certain CNET has a deal with those companies, in that they make their pricing information avaialble in an easy to parse format which CNET processes twice daily.

  6. #6
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree, there are huge amount of price info @CNet Shopping, so of course it's not manually updated.

    And I also believe that the retailer/supplier has to send their prices to CNet and not the other way around (CNet goes to the site and gets the price info)
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast ebuydrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So there is no way without coming to an arrangement with the other sites that I could automatically update prices?

  8. #8
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could try to parse their site and it might not be efficient (slow) and also need to obtain the permission from the site owners.
    To successfully parse the pages and get the right information, you need to follow exactly how they put it (so it might get complicated - eg: they change their design, you have to change your script accordingly)
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •