SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Minor MSIE Issues

    Hey

    I have a couple of minor CSS issues I need to squash. Can anyone help me?

    CSS Issues:
    • The drop down menus are being displayed behind the flash movie.
    • In MSIE the navigation actuators still activate the drop down menu but instead of dropping down right below the navigation as it's supposed to, they drop from the top of the viewport. Strange! Do these need to be positioned? Firefox doesn't seem to have this problem with them.


    Website: http://www.redblockproductions.com/tsp/index.html
    Primary Stylesheet: http://redblockproductions.com/tsp/css/main.css
    Menu Stylesheet: http://redblockproductions.com/tsp/transmenu.css

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,339
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    HI,

    The flash issue can be solverd by adding this to your parameters.
    Code:
    <param name="wmode" value="opaque" />


    Can't see whats wrong with Ie though

    Paul

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thank you Paul!

    You were right (of course)! The flash issue is fixed. It's strange how you don't see the Internet Explorer problem. Thanks again Paul!

    EDIT: Did you mean you were able to see the problem but weren't able to find a solution or that you just didn't see the problem at all?

  4. #4
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,339
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    lol - I meant I couldn't see the solution yet but I could see the problem

    I'll have another look later today when I'm awake

    Paul

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Paul,

    Alright, I appreciate all of your help. I've scoured the css file and javascript file looking for any incompatibilities with I.E. I think it has something to do with the top value in one of the transmenu selectors in the transmenu.css file. I think I.E. is misinterpreting it somehow.

    Thanks a lot for taking a look Paul!

  6. #6
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,339
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    It seems your js menu was written for ie in quirks mode.

    If you force quirks mode the the menu starts working properly. You can do this by adding the xml prologue as follows.

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
    	"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    The menu now starts working. I'm afraid I don't know js enough to tell you where the code needs changing (or if possible to change) however it seems to work fine in quirks mode.

    Just be aware that in quirks mode ie6 also uses the broken box model as ie5 and 5.5. do in any mode. So any box model hacks have to be given to ie6 also. (See my FAQ on this subject).

    Hope that helps.

    Paul

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Paul, you're a life saver! The menu works perfectly now. I wasn't aware of the XML prolog. How did you determine what was wrong?

    Thanks again Paul!

    -Mason

  8. #8
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,339
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    How did you determine what was wrong?
    I went to the site where you got the script from to check you hadn't altered it incorrectly. I then noticed that their examples didn't have a doctype so I guessed that quirks mode was the answer

    Paul

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow. Thanks again Paul!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •