SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 47
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict Shalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    __beyond
    Posts
    295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    anyone using XP SP2?

    Is anyone on this forum using XP with Service Pack 2?

    I am facing some problem with one of my application, I want to check if this is a common problem. please pm or reply to this thread if you are using SP2.

    thanks!

    Shalin Jain
    Help Desk Software - Helpdesk Pilot
    Flash Screensaver - Screenswift for Windows
    Online Polls - Tezaa.com
    Address Book Software - Addza for Windows

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Defender1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    My Computer
    Posts
    2,808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not using SP2.
    I hated every bit of it except for the IE popup blocker, but even that got a bit annoying after a while.

    SP2 killed or annoyed a lot of apps on my PC.

    So I went back to SP1
    Defender's Designs
    I'm Getting Married!

    Not-so-patiently awaiting Harry Potter Book 7 *sigh*

  3. #3
    ********* Wizard silver trophy Cam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Burpengary, Australia
    Posts
    4,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I've been using it since before it was made stable and it's been great for me No issues at all.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot SuperFunZoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been using SP2 for almost two months now. No issues at all.

  5. #5
    Livin' the dream.. ThreeD!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you're not the first to have issues with SP2 A friend of mine had to reinstall windows because it screwed up some of his settings. Good ol MS does it over and over again hehe
    * Losers make excuses - winners make it happen *
    Your dream can come true - if you have the courage to pursue it!

  6. #6
    Can we go to a 48 hour day?
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    906
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have it installed on a couple of machines, but I turn it all off. I guess it depends on what "broken" application is. I mean are we just talking about the firewall blocking something?
    mitechie.com
    "Techies just think a little differently
    ...at least that is what they keep telling me."

  7. #7
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have it on all of my machines though I upgraded my own workstation during the RC2 release. Haven't had any issues with the upgrades. I have 2 machines running XP Home and one running XP Pro.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard Defender1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    My Computer
    Posts
    2,808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, their firewall isn't an issue, as I disabled it the second I finished the install.

    Anytime I tried to view any kind of streaming/online media I had to disable Norton.
    Virus scans would failed unexpectedly.
    StyleXP didn't work until I updated it with a patch for SP2.

    That's just what I noticed in the short amount of time I had SP2 on my system.
    Defender's Designs
    I'm Getting Married!

    Not-so-patiently awaiting Harry Potter Book 7 *sigh*

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast RogueNW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    An island near Seattle
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been using SP2 for, well, since it came out. Have it installed on 5 machines so far, not one issue at all.
    default signature

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast catchar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe this has something to do with my question at Some links don't work when browsing.

    I updated my roommate's laptop to SP2 about a month ago. Since then, JavaScript OpenWin links don't work. (FYI, the jscript for hyperlinks that opens a new window).

    For now, firefox works fine. But it's really bothering me that this one little problem exists when it shouldn't.

    Any thoughts this may be the cause? I wouldn't know how to "go back" to SP1 without messing anything up.

  11. #11
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem is that Internet Explorer SP2, forbids certain types of javascript links from working. It is a security precaution and the result of bad coding.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As an FYI, you get free support calls to Microsoft if you're having issues, eh? That includes whoever's friend had to reinstall. No idea why everyone complains about Microsoft support... When they don't even use the free calls they're allocated.
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast catchar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy W.
    As an FYI, you get free support calls to Microsoft if you're having issues, eh? That includes whoever's friend had to reinstall. No idea why everyone complains about Microsoft support... When they don't even use the free calls they're allocated.
    Thanks for the tip, Jeremy. No complaints from me.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sp2 caused me problems with ares.

    so i uninstalled it.

  15. #15
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DreamLevel
    you're not the first to have issues with SP2 A friend of mine had to reinstall windows because it screwed up some of his settings. Good ol MS does it over and over again hehe
    That happened to an acquaintance of mine as well. Windows would freeze everytime after the desktop image showed up, and display an error message about some .dll file missing. All of that after he installed SP2 and reboot the pc.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And what happened after he called MS support?
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  17. #17
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy W.
    And what happened after he called MS support?
    There's no MS support here.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  18. #18
    Livin' the dream.. ThreeD!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Toly
    There's no MS support here.
    and thank god for that
    * Losers make excuses - winners make it happen *
    Your dream can come true - if you have the courage to pursue it!

  19. #19
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Toly
    There's no MS support here.
    No?

    http://support.microsoft.com/oas/def...1&gprid=273354
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  20. #20
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy W.
    Well, even though they list Panama at the top, that is actually a phone number in Costa Rica, and you can't call to free toll numbers in other countries from here anyways.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  21. #21
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fair enough.
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  22. #22
    Non-Member fsdWebmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up No problems here!

    Hi.

    I downloaded and installed SP2 right after it became available to the public and I havent had any problems with it either. There were a few bugs that it fixed for me which made me very happy.

    SP2

  23. #23
    i'm a girl silver trophy Toni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,022
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SP2 has been working fine for me. It's very important to check out your computer's manufactors web site, look up your computer model, and see if they have any special notes for SP2.

    I know HP had special updates I needed to download from their site, before I could upgrade to SP2. Also make sure all your drivers and such are up to date

  24. #24
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works splendidly for me.
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

  25. #25
    Livin' the dream.. ThreeD!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by M. Johansson
    Works splendidly for me.
    you're one of the lucky ones tjenare hehe
    * Losers make excuses - winners make it happen *
    Your dream can come true - if you have the courage to pursue it!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •