SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    install probs: can't start extensions

    Hi..

    I'm running an apache2 server on a Windows XP SP2 box..
    I've installed php5 on the server, and that works...

    I want to enable the mysql extension, but i can't. When i (re)start the server after configuring php.ini, is says that "PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'd:/path/to/extensionsl/php_*.dll' - The given module was not found."

    I've tried placing the .dll in many different folders; i've tried to put the .dll in the default php5 dir, but NOTHING WORKS..!!!!!!

    I found out, that it's only extensions witch need additional files i can't start. php_gd2.php for example, i can start, no probs..

    SO WHATS WRONG..!? Anybody got an idea..??

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast Viper_SB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No one reads the manual, read it here mysql installation

    Note: Windows users will need to enable php_mysql.dll inside of php.ini and either copy libmysql.dll into the Windows system directory, or make it available to the PATH.

    This will fix "Unable to load dynamic library './php_mysql.dll'" errors.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah, you're right... i only read the php install doc (funny it's not mentioned there)

    anyway IT WORKS..!!

    thx..!

    maybe it's a stupid question, but what the "PATH" that they relate to in the manual..??

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast Viper_SB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In windows xp you can right click on My Computer select Properties then select the Advanced tab, then select Environment Variables and the PATH you see there is the PATH they are talking about, files that are in any directories mentioned there are accessible from anywhere, i.e it's like the php include directive.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    okay..

    i can't get that PATH-thing to work, but it works with the dll in the win-dir..

    THANKS FOR HELPING...!!!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast Viper_SB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ya exactly not sure if it always works in the path, but in the winsys dir it should work fine

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist Tecknowjnkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mission Viejo
    Posts
    403
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Can i jump in on this? I have tried all your suggestions and still can not get it to run. Any suggestions?

    PHP Ver. 5.0.2
    xp pro sp2
    II S V 5.1
    Local Machine
    Last edited by Tecknowjnkie; Nov 18, 2004 at 22:21. Reason: added:

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast Viper_SB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IIS there is your problem, use apache

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist Tecknowjnkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mission Viejo
    Posts
    403
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can u elaborate as it is "suppose to work", this is a local install and the same config is used by my host. The only diference being IIS 6.

    TYIA

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist Tecknowjnkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mission Viejo
    Posts
    403
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WIth respect to "/" or "\\" in the path and directories in my php.ini file that is on a local machine, should it be "/" or "\" or "//" ?

    Thank you

  11. #11
    SitePoint Evangelist Tecknowjnkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mission Viejo
    Posts
    403
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    here is a snippit from my php.ini.

    This is a local instal not on the internet.

    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    ; Paths and Directories ;
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    ; UNIX: "/path1:/path2"
    ;include_path = ".:/php/includes"
    ;
    ; Windows: "\path1;\path2"
    ;include_path = ".;c:\php\includes"

    ; The root of the PHP pages, used only if nonempty.
    ; if PHP was not compiled with FORCE_REDIRECT, you SHOULD set doc_root
    ; if you are running php as a CGI under any web server (other than IIS)
    ; see documentation for security issues. The alternate is to use the
    ; cgi.force_redirect configuration below
    doc_root =

    ; The directory under which PHP opens the script using /~username used only
    ; if nonempty.
    user_dir =

    ; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
    extension_dir = "C:\PHP\ext\"

    ; Whether or not to enable the dl() function. The dl() function does NOT work
    ; properly in multithreaded servers, such as IIS or Zeus, and is automatically
    ; disabled on them.
    enable_dl = off

    ; cgi.force_redirect is necessary to provide security running PHP as a CGI under
    ; most web servers. Left undefined, PHP turns this on by default. You can
    ; turn it off here AT YOUR OWN RISK
    ; **You CAN safely turn this off for IIS, in fact, you MUST.**
    ; cgi.force_redirect = 1

    ; if cgi.nph is enabled it will force cgi to always sent Status: 200 with
    ; every request.
    ; cgi.nph = 1

    ; if cgi.force_redirect is turned on, and you are not running under Apache or Netscape
    ; (iPlanet) web servers, you MAY need to set an environment variable name that PHP
    ; will look for to know it is OK to continue execution. Setting this variable MAY
    ; cause security issues, KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING FIRST.
    ; cgi.redirect_status_env = ;

    ; FastCGI under IIS (on WINNT based OS) supports the ability to impersonate
    ; security tokens of the calling client. This allows IIS to define the
    ; security context that the request runs under. mod_fastcgi under Apache
    ; does not currently support this feature (03/17/2002)
    ; Set to 1 if running under IIS. Default is zero.
    ; fastcgi.impersonate = 1;

    ; cgi.rfc2616_headers configuration option tells PHP what type of headers to
    ; use when sending HTTP response code. If it's set 0 PHP sends Status: header that
    ; is supported by Apache. When this option is set to 1 PHP will send
    ; RFC2616 compliant header.
    ; Default is zero.
    ;cgi.rfc2616_headers = 0

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast Viper_SB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what exactly is the error?

  13. #13
    SitePoint Evangelist Tecknowjnkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mission Viejo
    Posts
    403
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you Viper;
    -----------------------------------------Error------------------------------------
    PHP Stratup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\PHP\ext\php_mysql.dll' - The specified module can not be found.

    -----------------------------------------End Error--------------------------------

    Now, the file "php_mysql.dll" is present in the the above path in the error. I also verfified above suggestions by you to the other guy.

    THank you again. This is frustrating.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast Viper_SB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so you DID copy libmysql.dll to your windows system 32 directory? other then that I don't know, I've never used IIS so it could be something with that

  15. #15
    SitePoint Evangelist Tecknowjnkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mission Viejo
    Posts
    403
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Got it! I had mistakenly grabbed libmysqli.dll.... staring at pixels 13 hours a day has it's drawbacks!

    TY for you help Viper


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •