SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    los angeles, ca
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    google adsense not updating?

    I just moved my blog from blogger to wordpress, and I noticed that the google adsense ads haven't been updating. It's still showing the ads from a couple of weeks ago.

    www.dailyclerks.com.

    anyone know why this is happening?

  2. #2
    M.B.B.S.
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It seems that Adsense takes a lot of time to update. Once I had changed content & html of several pages of my site and it was still showing the ads for a week which used to be shown before my updating. After a few days I changed the web page file names and it showed ads based on new content. Interesting, isn't it?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works fine for me

  4. #4
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclone
    It seems that Adsense takes a lot of time to update. Once I had changed content & html of several pages of my site and it was still showing the ads for a week which used to be shown before my updating. After a few days I changed the web page file names and it showed ads based on new content. Interesting, isn't it?
    The presence of AdSense on a new URL invokes the spider to visit your website. AdSense expects most pages to remain relatively static, as each new page will have its own URL.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    los angeles, ca
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, I guess i'll just have to wait. I had changed the name of the file from index.htm to index.php.

    The other pages seem to work fine except for the index page. Keeps showing the damn transformers.

  6. #6
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That won't change the ads shown on http://www.example.com, as the URL is still http://www.example.com.

  7. #7
    M.B.B.S.
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    799
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dailyclerk
    ok, I guess i'll just have to wait. I had changed the name of the file from index.htm to index.php.

    The other pages seem to work fine except for the index page. Keeps showing the damn transformers.
    Redirecting index.htm to another page will do the job. For example, you can rename the current index.htm to index2.htm and create a blank index.htm which will redirect to index2.htm

  8. #8
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclone
    Redirecting index.htm to another page will do the job. For example, you can rename the current index.htm to index2.htm and create a blank index.htm which will redirect to index2.htm
    That'd probably have more negative impact on SEO than is worth it just to get new ads...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •