SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ASP or PHP? Do they actually do what i am after?

i am currently redesigning the website for Vox Pops Library. all of my previous sites have been simple, graphic based 2-dimensional sites, and being self taught this means it is all i really know how to do.
    i am now working on my first site that has to be functional. What the site is going to be is an online market research library, similar to (and eventually bigger than)Experts On Line.

I believe ASP and PHP will enable me to create a databse of files, rather than a seperate page for each. Am i right so far? (i have been researching this on a number of sites, but can't find the specific info i need).
    All the video's will be divided into categories, and each video will be available in a number of formats, with accompanying description.

and finally, as far as i can see the only real difference between asp and php is - cost and who can view/host the pages. we need mac compatability too, so that will have to be taken into account.

Any help would be much appreciated - i've kind of been thrown in at the deepend here.

$this->toCD-R(LP); vinyl-junkie's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your conclusions are correct. From what you've described here, either ASP or PHP would do the job for you. However, PHP is clearly the better choice because of the hosting options it offers that ASP simply can't match. In my opinion, the learning curve is much shorter for PHP, too.

If you need a book to get you started, I would highly recommend Kevin Yank's book, Build Your Own Database Driven Website Using PHP & MySQL. It's an easy read and will get you up to speed pretty quickly.

Hope this helps.
    Music Around The World - Collecting tips, trade
    and want lists, album reviews, & more
    Showcase your music collection on the Web

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged