SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I need to create a content management system to go with a database-driven website. I'm exploring building the site in PHP (which I am just learning) and wonder...does anyone know where I can learn how to create an editing interface so that non-techie people can input content into the database....

Has anyone experimented with over-the-counter content management systems like RedDot etc?

I'm wondering if I can integrate such a system with a PHP-based site...

Basically wondering what the options are, not sure I even know what the heck I'm talking about just yet.

Any & all help is appreciated!

Thanks!
    vcrs

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would suggest you build your own. It allows you to customise it to fit your site more then over the counter ones. If you don't have the time to build it your self you could have a look at a few of these pre-built ones:

http://www.typo3.com/
    http://www.phpnuke.org/
    http://mcyra.homeip.net/homepage/doc/doc_us/index.htm

********* Callithumpian silver trophy freakysid's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have the time, build it yourself. It will probably take just as long to build yourself as to configure a boxed solution. Firstly, by the end of the project you will be a PHP wizard and secondly you will have an intimate knowledge of the code which will aid maintenance.

The link in my signature leads to a thread full of useful links including a link to Kevin Yanks extensive tutorial that covers building a content management system using MySQL and PHP.
    Last edited by freakysid; Apr 4, 2001 at 08:31.

Idea Developer
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I like to build stuff myself too. Also you dont need to give any credit to anyone, and it fits nicely into your porfolio.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)