SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Why Accessible Web Design is important for Business

I just found this article which I think sums it up pretty well.

http://www.scotconnect.com/show.php?contentid=81

However, as a business student, I'm finding that business people seem to keep usability issues at arm's length. It's not for them, it's for the designers/developers to deal with. I'm working on this as a thesis topic although I haven't yet completed my research proposal. If anyone has any comments or observations, I'd be very grateful.

At this stage I'm looking at whether business people have an awareness of the importance of usability issues, and whether the importance of website usability is taught to business students at university level.

(I mentioned this issue briefly in my introductory post, and had a couple of excellent replies, but thought it was more on-topic to continue here.)

High fives all round! bradley317's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Generally, I think it should be left to the webbies. As far as I'm concerned accessible web design should be part of the service - I just think the quality of the website, and therefore the quality of design / development service, improves if accessible, or a least standards based, design principles are included from the beginning.

It's a pretty big area really, so how can buisness folks be expected to know about it? I suppose it might help for them to know a little bit about the principle, so that they can be sure it's included in design briefs etc, but I don't see how learning about the detail will help them in the long run.
    Hello, hello, what's all this shouting?
    We'll have no trouble here

(Helping a pal... http://www.funkdub.info)

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)