SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot ant1832's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Link available in IE, but not clickable in Firefox.

    I'm working on a site and have come across a strange problem. I wasn't sure where to post this, so forgive me if its in the wrong section. I have four links across the top of my page, in Firefox the first 3 are clickable, but the 4th is not. In IE all 4 are clickable.

    Thoughts
    http://www.yoursisnot.com/blog/index.html

    Here is the code for the 4 links
    Code:
    <div id="nav">
    <div class="navContainer">
    <a href="./index.html" class="navActive">Home</a>
    <a href="./profile.php" class="navLinks">Profiles</a>
    <a href="./archives.html" class="navLinks">Archives</a>
    <a href="./gallery.php" class="navLinks">Gallery</a>
    </div>
    </div>
    Anthony

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard rbutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    1,867
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Paul will probably be around but try specifying the class in the paragraph tag instead. I only looked over it quickly.

    <p class="navActive"><a href="./index.html">Home</a></p>

    Plus what is up with your paths? If you're going up one level it should be:

    <a href="../index.html"></a>

    NOT just a single dot.
    Ryan Butler

    Midwest Web Design

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot ant1832's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A single dot represents that it is relative to the current directory.

    I don't know where I learned that you should always do that, but I found an article online that supports that.
    http://www.ualberta.ca/WebSupport/FA...tivePaths.html

    edit-actually this page suggests there is really no need to use the ./ or /
    Last edited by ant1832; Oct 5, 2004 at 14:47.
    Anthony

  4. #4
    Forums Designer
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <div id="links"> overlaps that button, so that's why it isn't clickable (btw, it isn't clickable in Opera too, not only Mozilla). To fix it increase "top" property of #links

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot ant1832's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAlien
    <div id="links"> overlaps that button, so that's why it isn't clickable (btw, it isn't clickable in Opera too, not only Mozilla). To fix it increase "top" property of #links
    That worked perfectly. Thanks!
    Anthony

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard rbutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    1,867
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ant1832
    A single dot represents that it is relative to the current directory.
    No it doesn't. Relative to the current document is ../filename in a UNIX file system. Same way in a Windows environment. Or index if in the same directory. Site root-relative is /filename, which means its relative to the entire directory.
    Ryan Butler

    Midwest Web Design


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •