SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lightbulb

Since this is a quiet thread..let's start something..

I'm a webmaster of 2 sites at the moment, with 2 more coming out soon. However, 75% of them are still based on the advertising dependant model while the other would be sale dependant.

So far, I've done reduction in cost particularly on hosting fees/per site and with a 1 man business, its difficult to cut down cost elsewhere.

The only thing is to get more advertising dollars. How? I've tried direct approach since many ad networks are rejecting sites and done quite a number of pay per lead offers.

So far, I'm nearly breaking even. However, I'm out of ideas on how to survive the dotcom meltdown. Here are ideas which should be feasible.

1) Subscription based - this is only good for sites with high loyalty
    2) Sell something online?

Anyone?
    Anime-Genesis.com - Your Online Anime Entertainment Channel

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs up

Selling something online is by far the more prudent course of action, as almost any business will pay a commission once a product or service has been sold. As such, I think its important to distinguish between affiliate programs and merchant programs. But more important than both -- and more lucrative -- is the concept of online marketing.