SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Page not showing up right in Firefox??

    Hello

    The other night I just did this page:
    [File removed]
    I used Macromedia Dreamweaver MX to edit/make the page

    Any ideas/suggestion to why it looks so bad in Firefox? & but it looks fine in IE

    also any ideas on how I can fix this?
    Last edited by stu16; Nov 22, 2005 at 00:22.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy KLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    3,781
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are lots of HTML validation issues with the page. Here is what W3C.org found wrong with the page:
    http://validator.w3.org/check?verbos...ch_engines.htm

    Start by fixing these issues and you will reduce many of your display issues.
    Ken Barbalace: EnvironmentalChemistry.com (Blog, Careers)
    InternetSAR.org
    Volunteers Assist Search and Rescue via Internet
    My Firefox Theme: Classic Compact
    Based onFirefox's default theme but uses much less window space

  3. #3
    Are You There? KDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Your Monitor
    Posts
    1,147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not seeing much of a difference at all between the two. Your layout could use some help though. If you have to use tables... get rid of the borders!

    Also, you could make it a lot cleaner by just having say 2-3 engines listed per row and have a clean shot rather than a mile long page of displaced links.
    ChooseDaily.com - Follow on Twitter
    Top Resources for Web Designers and Developers Every Day!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KDesigns
    Your layout could use some help though. If you have to use tables... get rid of the borders!
    yeath, but that is what make it looks nice, [url removed] this is how it how it would look if it did not have the borders.

    What do you think?

    Also, you could make it a lot cleaner by just having say 2-3 engines listed per row and have a clean shot rather than a mile long page of displaced links.
    Could you explain more?

    Do you mean like having 2-3 engines listed across the way (e.g. left to right?)
    Last edited by stu16; Mar 6, 2005 at 01:14.

  5. #5
    Are You There? KDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Your Monitor
    Posts
    1,147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the no borders looks fine... as long as you did the clean look with 2-3 engines listed left to right. You may only want to do two per row to allow for proper spacing. Place the SE logo, then do a line break and add the text. It would look MUCH better IMHO
    ChooseDaily.com - Follow on Twitter
    Top Resources for Web Designers and Developers Every Day!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry for the delay in getting back to you on this pps:

    Thank you very much for your help KDesigns I will take that suggestion on board

  7. #7
    Are You There? KDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Your Monitor
    Posts
    1,147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You are more than welcome! Hope everything works out!
    ChooseDaily.com - Follow on Twitter
    Top Resources for Web Designers and Developers Every Day!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •