SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm really a business/legal professional who did a bit of C++ coding and has been building his own site. I've sort of hit the brick wall in terms of what to learn. What is suggested is different for everybody and I do have a year of C++ learning behind me. My goal? Who knows where I'll be in a year from now and I'd like to learn some languages that will be growing, rather than slowing down, as well as in demand for $$$... yeah, I know it's all about the code but we have to eat some time!!! I'll still probably end up in business but I love to keep up my site and learn how to do it... but don't want to learn dead end languages. Here is what I'm thinking:

1) HTML: A given, should know CSS
    2) Java: A must.
    3) Javascript: A must also (what a pain.. the list is growing)
    4) ASP v. PHP v. JSP: I'm leaning toward starting on ASP and figuring this out in a month or two. Isn't vBulletin in PHP? Is it growing or will JSP outstrip ASP and PHP? PHP is cheap, ASP supposedly isn't because your provider has to lay out money for MS licensing. Linux seems to be growing tremendously... so.. for *my* purposes, what d you think?
    5) mySQL v. SQL Server v. Oracle v. Access: I know Access well and began basic SQL, and will probably begin learning on mySQL since I have it on my site. I'll worry about anything further later. The top 4 above are more important.
    6) Spanish v. German: OK... we'll leave this one for a rainy day.

So, that's where I'm looking at going with this. Comments anyone? Hope I don't start a war... just looking for some peace of mind!
    My site for law answers and legal information -- I also buy websites you may wish to sell

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)