SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    aaa
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    white blocks on display: change appear!

    I am going crazy by the time anyone read this
    the problem is simple, I have the following functions:

    Code:
    function showf(objId)
      {
    	  document.getElementById(objId).style.display = "";
      }
    function hidef(objId)
      {
    	  document.getElementById(objId).style.display = "none";
      }
    (there's a table row I want to be appeared/ disappeared on a click)

    in IE, everything goes fine.


    Firefox hoever; gives me white blocks on the display:none

    pictures:
    IE(when it's closed):

    IE(when it's opened):


    Firefox(when it's closed->opened):


    any help would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Aficionado JVLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    N 44 56.537' W 123 3.683'
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try display:table-row-group. "" isn't really a valid value for display.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy blufive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    JVLB: No, but by setting it to "", the code given above should cause the document element to revert to its default value of display.

    ssadss: Try pointing firefox's DOM inspector at it, Alternatively, any chance you can give us a link to the page? Then I'll point DOM inspector at it, and try to figure out what's going on.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Aficionado JVLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    N 44 56.537' W 123 3.683'
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    blufive: I believe that is a browser thing and not part of the actual standard. That would mean support for it would be optional, which is not to say FF won't do it, but it's not to say it will, either. That's why I suggested trying the table-row-group, to find out if that might be the source of the problem.

    I agree it would be better to see the actual markup, though, rather than trying to guess.
    Last edited by JVLB; Sep 26, 2004 at 06:51.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,843
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Probably related to this bug which keeps cropping up in various guises...
    ::: certified wild guess :::

  6. #6
    SitePoint Aficionado JVLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    N 44 56.537' W 123 3.683'
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The screen shots that ssadss provided suggest that display:none is being applied to the whole table when trying to make the row display. An actual link would help to clarify. It might be worth trying visibility:hidden in lieu of display:none, too.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •