SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    My computer is driving me mad

    Hi

    Im having lots of trouble with my computer, and because i know very little about hardware i decided to post here to see if anyone can help me.

    This is the problem: im running Windows XP and the computer resets with almost every thing, it can be opening an image with windows viewer, "opening in new page" in IE, viewing videos, opening some file or software, and the strangest thing is that something that makes the computer reset sometimes other times doesnt do it. Sometimes im opening a file and it resets, and then i have to make a copy of it and it will open, other times i need to change session, but once again this is not always.

    As i told before my knowledge on hardware is almost 0, i know this computer is a celeron 1100 with 256mb RAM and a 64mb graphics card.

    All that i do now is the same things i did a couple months ago when the computer was good, and i just formated the hard drive, thats why im guessing it has to do with hardware.

    I would like to hear your opinion, what component do you think is not working properly?
    Sorry if i couldnt explain the problem the best way.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    2,240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got a feeling it's the RAM (or possibly the graphics memory).

    Have you got any friends with a spare RAM stick that you could test in your machine?

    -Sam
    Sam Hastings

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your reply Sam.

    Ive done that already, and tried new memories and the problem continues, and my memories work perfectly on my friends computer.
    Could it be the motherboards's connection with the RAM somehow??

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone else got any ideas?

  5. #5
    there is no box baztorres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    UK - London \ Surrey
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have a look at the logs and see what they say why it is rebooting.
    Baz
    ---

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi baztorres, and thanks for your reply.

    But how exactly do i do that? Where are those logs?

    Thank you

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    2,240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Start > Control Panel

    Administrative Tools

    Event Viewer
    Sam Hastings

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot MystaMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do you have any ANTI virus protection on your computer? What Service Pack are you running? to find out push the WINDOWS KEY and PAUSE BREAK on your keyboard, or just right click the my computer ICON and go down to properties

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi
    I went to start>control panel>administrative tools>event viewer
    Then i got application security and system. the first and the last have lots of events, qhat do i do with them?

    MystaMax:

    I use kaspersky anti-virus, before formating disk i was using norton
    Im running SP2, before formating i was using SP1

    I appreciate any help anyone can give

    Thank you

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot MystaMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    when did these problems begin? Is your haddrive CLICKING? do you hear any abnormal noises coming from ya BOX? I always run my ULTIMATE BOOT DISK to run harddrive utilities. check it out @ http://ubcd.sourceforge.net/

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I forgot to say but many websites also make my pc reset, like 2advanced.com or chibaev.com, and that site you gave the link as well. so unfortunately i cant download that software. Do you think my harddrive is the problem?

  12. #12
    there is no box baztorres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    UK - London \ Surrey
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do a screen shot of the logs and post them here or on a site and then we all can have a look.
    Baz
    ---

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here goes a screenshot of the events on "application" and "system" as attachments. In application there are more than 2000 events and in system almost 300.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any ideas?

  15. #15
    there is no box baztorres's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    UK - London \ Surrey
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, sorry I haven't replied. The Apache Service is creating an error.
    Open the error details and see what they say, post it if neccessary.
    Baz
    ---

  16. #16
    SitePoint Zealot Jalal_UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    London - UK
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post U have Chip Creep in your PC!

    Judging by your diagnosis, it seems your pc has chip creep. All u gotta do is reset all the socket components like the RAM, take them out and reset back in again. If you’re anxious of getting out the components, just press down all your cards (apart from your CPU which is in a ZIF socket anyway) and specially your RAM.

    This should solve your random hang-ups problems.
    Let us know how u get along.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, sorry for my late reply, but i had to go out on work and i didnt have internet access where i went to.
    Jalal UK, thanks a lot for your suggestion, i tried that, i took the RAM out and put back in, but i didnt reset the socket components as i dont know how to do that , and i also pressed down all the cards, but everything is as it was before. My hang-ups are not as random as that, in some situations they really are, but in most no, for instance 2advanced.com crashes always in the same part of the animation, another example: smartFTP always crashes when i start it. Baztorres, the error about the Apache service is related to shutting down the PC unproperly, but that error only appears when apache is running, i mean most of the time i dopnt have apache running and the problem continues.
    Any suggestions and/or recommendations are most welcome, thanks to everybody who is trying to help.

  18. #18
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My guess is that the powersupply is at fault. Take a look at the voltages (in the BIOS).

    Also, take a good look at the mainboard itself. Do you see any capacitors (the big, round things with two 'legs') that look like they're about to burst (the top is not flat, but round), possibly with stuff oozing out of it?
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Glastonbury, CT
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb

    You might have a virus on your computer. If you have virus protection software, do a scan for viruses and see.

    ltng92

  20. #20
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi
    I dont feel very confortable messing with the BIOS, what exactly do i look for and where?
    itng92, i already scanned my computer and have no virus, thanks for the effort anyway.
    Thanks


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •