SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 84
  1. #26
    My precious!!! astericks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just installed the latest version of pagerankstatus. On the top right ahnd corner of the pagerank statusbar [at the bottom left corner of your screen], there is a small icon next to it.

    If you click on it, it shows the listing if the site in DMOZ. It doesnt show it for every site though..I *think* it's only when you have a listing in there.

    try it for passportcanada.com. Hover on the small icon before clicking it.

  2. #27
    "Of" != "Have" bronze trophy Jeff Lange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    2,063
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by momos
    Don't have the small hand problem
    I can reach the J with my left hand, but only barely, lol, it just bugs me since Ctrl+E was so easy.
    Who walks the stairs without a care
    It shoots so high in the sky.
    Bounce up and down just like a clown.
    Everyone knows its Slinky.

  3. #28
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ctrl+J is easy to reach, but it's akward.. pinkey and middle is easier than pinkey and thumb... haven't tried it yet, waiting to get my computer back.. *sniff* I'm on MSIE right now...

  4. #29
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beijing China
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    good
    artwork china
    http://artworkcn.meibu.com
    seek sponsor thanks

  5. #30
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    New Firefox comments

    A couple things I noticed...

    The good: In the last version I kept hitting Ctrl-S by accident (its a muscle memory thing, I dunno..) which was launching an external email proggie (Ctrl-S was send). Very annoying. The preview release doesn't use that key-combo, much to my delight.

    The Weird: I'm seeing very odd, intermittant problems with the most basic table resizing. I wasted an hour trying to figure out the problem, only to see the browser "fix" itself. No idea how to replicate, but here is a tiny sample:

    Code:
    <table width="100%"  border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
      <tr>
        <td bgcolor="#CCCCCC">&nbsp;</td>
        <td width="200" bgcolor="#FFFFCC">&nbsp;</td>
      </tr>
    </table>
    Firefox was sometimes not redrawing the table after resizing the browser...

  6. #31
    SitePoint Zealot buono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not installed yet, but I cannot remember a piece of software becoming so important to me, so quickly.

    I carry the installer on a Flash drive so I can use it everywhere.

    I loathe having to use IE on some occasions but thankfully these are becoming less frequent.

  7. #32
    SitePoint Enthusiast Charles Lim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Georgetown
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    a lot of our custom php scripts doesn't work on that......as they only compatible with IE...

    the rest, firefox is amazing

  8. #33
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP is server side.

  9. #34
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy KLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    3,781
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by stymiee
    I signed up yesterday. I had been promoting Firefox directly previously, but added the tracking code to my links. Its kind of cool seeing how many people I send their way.

    Currently I'm still using Firefox v0.9.3 on my main machine, but am installing v1.0pr on new machines. I'll upgrade to v1.0 final, but don't see the rush to upgrade from v0.9.3 it is stable and I didn't see any compelling differences.

    They wanted 1,000,000 downloads in ten days, but maybe they'll get two million+. As one online rag said, it is time to abandon the good ship IE our life boat is here.
    Ken Barbalace: EnvironmentalChemistry.com (Blog, Careers)
    InternetSAR.org
    Volunteers Assist Search and Rescue via Internet
    My Firefox Theme: Classic Compact
    Based onFirefox's default theme but uses much less window space

  10. #35
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Charles Lim
    a lot of our custom php scripts doesn't work on that......as they only compatible with IE...
    That's impossible. It's likely your HTML, Javascript, or CSS that's the problem since Firefox never sees your PHP code.

  11. #36
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,423
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KLB
    I signed up yesterday. I had been promoting Firefox directly previously, but added the tracking code to my links. Its kind of cool seeing how many people I send their way.
    It is a lot of fun. So far I've sent over 42 visitors.

  12. #37
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    nz
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I still think it's too slow to load up (win32 version) and the way images load is annoying. otherwise, it's not bad.

  13. #38
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy KLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    3,781
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by paulyboy
    I still think it's too slow to load up (win32 version) and the way images load is annoying. otherwise, it's not bad.
    Odd, I run Firefox on WinXP pro and by default it loads pages on four different tabs. I've never noticed any significant difference between it and other browsers. Then again, I only consider a difference significant if it is greater than say five seconds or so.
    Ken Barbalace: EnvironmentalChemistry.com (Blog, Careers)
    InternetSAR.org
    Volunteers Assist Search and Rescue via Internet
    My Firefox Theme: Classic Compact
    Based onFirefox's default theme but uses much less window space

  14. #39
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by paulyboy
    I still think it's too slow to load up (win32 version)
    I always wonder about people who come up with this argument. MSPaint loads much faster than Photoshop or Fireworks, but which one do you use to edit graphics?

  15. #40
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On my PC, Firefox PR takes 15 seconds to load the first time after a Reboot... It is really annoying but at least it only happens that one time. When it inevitably crashes, and I restart the browser it only takes a second or two.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  16. #41
    SitePoint Addict Tim_Rogovets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Odessa, Ukraine
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've upgraded to 1.0PR without any problems.

    If you're going to upgrade - follow the steps:
    - disable all installed extensions
    - uninstall the old version, but without removing the old FF folder
    - install 1.0PR to the same folder

    That's all.

    With 1.0 I've noticed 3 major things:
    - the redesigned and improved 'search as you type' feature
    - the address bar goes yellow on secure pages
    - You can view your stored passwords now (this can be turned off)
    CEO of Grandiz! - a team based in Odessa, Ukraine.
    Designing and developing sophisticated web apps on CodeIgniter!

  17. #42
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by paulyboy
    I still think it's too slow to load up (win32 version) and the way images load is annoying. otherwise, it's not bad.
    1. Fast for me. 1.0PR is apparently faster, from what I've been told.
    2. The way the images load is a feature, not a bug. It lets you read the text without waiting for images. Enable pipelining or buy a new connection if it bothers you

  18. #43
    SitePoint Enthusiast bcwaller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Redondo Beach
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I swapped to Firefox from Netscape for the extensions. But, I have one thing that annoys me. Does anyone know how to set a preference or or an extension that will open a new tab when I click on a link in an email? I have SingleWindow, but it does not help when I click on a link in an email - which opens a new window.

    I was used to the search results showing up in the left column in Netscape and like it, but that is not enough to get me to swap back. Does anyone know of an extension to make the left column show search results instead of just history and bookmarks?
    Brad Waller | waller@epage.com
    EPage.com - Classifieds and Auctions
    AdConnect.com - Fully custom hosted Classifieds and Auctions
    AdJungle.com - Manage & sell your site advertising

  19. #44
    SitePoint Guru MG315's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    758
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i just found one of the coolest features of this new version of firefox. Press ctrl + f (find). Normally that default find window pops up so you can search the page...like all other browsers. But now it makes a little bar at the bottom that allows you to search, find next, highlight...


    maybe not the coolest feature, but i just stumbled onto it

  20. #45
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, the same bar pops up for find-as-you-type search (type / and then begin typing your search string).
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

  21. #46
    SitePoint Addict Tim_Rogovets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Odessa, Ukraine
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bcwaller, to make links in email open in a new tab - you need to install "Tabbrowser preferences" extension.
    CEO of Grandiz! - a team based in Odessa, Ukraine.
    Designing and developing sophisticated web apps on CodeIgniter!

  22. #47
    SitePoint Addict Tim_Rogovets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Odessa, Ukraine
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just noticed an interesting setting in FF about:config :
    'browser.turbo.enabled' . It is set to false by default.

    Does anyone know what is this setting for?
    CEO of Grandiz! - a team based in Odessa, Ukraine.
    Designing and developing sophisticated web apps on CodeIgniter!

  23. #48
    SitePoint Enthusiast bcwaller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Redondo Beach
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tim,

    Tabbrowser counds perfect, but I got an error. I installed and restarted, but the new windoww kept opening. I went to set options for it and there was an error message:
    XML Parsing Error: error in processing external entity reference
    LOcation: chrome://tabprefs/content/pref-tabprefs.xul
    Line Number 9, Column 1:

    %linksDTD;
    ^

    I'll try uninstalling and re-installing, and maybe a re-boot.
    Brad Waller | waller@epage.com
    EPage.com - Classifieds and Auctions
    AdConnect.com - Fully custom hosted Classifieds and Auctions
    AdJungle.com - Manage & sell your site advertising

  24. #49
    SitePoint Addict Tim_Rogovets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Odessa, Ukraine
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bcwaller
    Tabbrowser counds perfect, but I got an error. I installed and restarted, but the new windoww kept opening. I went to set options for it and there was an error message:
    XML Parsing Error: error in processing external entity reference
    LOcation: chrome://tabprefs/content/pref-tabprefs.xul
    Line Number 9, Column 1:
    Hmm.. Never see such an error before.
    It is possible that you're using a FF theme that doesn't support this extension. Try the default theme if this is the case. Dunno what else.

    Check out the 'notes' section here .

    There is some info. Maybe this will help.
    CEO of Grandiz! - a team based in Odessa, Ukraine.
    Designing and developing sophisticated web apps on CodeIgniter!

  25. #50
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    browser.turbo.enabled used to control whether Firefox (then Firebird) used a "Quick Launch" facility to keep the program running in memory at all times so that it would open instantly when you launched it. This feature has since been removed from Firefox, so the setting doesn't do anything in that browser.
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •