SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ram

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester; UK
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ram

    Hey,

    I have no idea if this is in the correct place but it seemed the best option to post here.

    Anyway I am having a huge upgrade on my computer; buying from Ebuyer etc and I really need to know what type of RAM I have at whether it's DDR PC3200 or whatever else there is.

    I would also like to avoid opening up my computer and taking my RAM sticks out.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Matthew's Daddy Mike Empuria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Box, Wiltshire
    Posts
    514
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did a quick google and found this:
    If you know the make and model of your computer (which should be written on it somewhere ) have a look at crucial.com

  3. #3
    Now available in Orange Tijmen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,469
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You also try a program like Sisoft Sandra to tell you more about the type of ram in your computer, and at which speed it works.
    Travel Photos on Flickr - Twitter

    “Never give up. Never surrender”

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester; UK
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the links I was reccomended Everest which I used and I am now in a pickle because I need to buy 512MB RAM but I don't know anywhere to buy that I understand thoroughly so if you could link me to a few 512MB RAM sticks with the following preferences:


    Module Size 512 MB (2 ranks, 4 banks)

    Module Type Unbuffered

    Memory Type DDR SDRAM

    Memory Speed PC3200 (200mhz)

    Module Width 64 Bit

    It would be greatly appreciated I have a budget upto £45 on RAM.

    Thanks
    Dan Williamson

  5. #5
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,606
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    When buying RAM, it's best to find the same brand and RAM with the same timings as the RAM that is already installed.

    You will probably have to open the computer up and look at the model number on the RAM, then google for the specifications.

    As long as you're not wearing any wool, standing on a carpet, or moving around too much to produce a lot of static electricity, you shouldn't have any problems with opening the case. Just be sure to ground yourself before handling the hardware (touch a metal part of the case).

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester; UK
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Force Flow
    When buying RAM, it's best to find the same brand and RAM with the same timings as the RAM that is already installed.

    You will probably have to open the computer up and look at the model number on the RAM, then google for the specifications.

    As long as you're not wearing any wool, standing on a carpet, or moving around too much to produce a lot of static electricity, you shouldn't have any problems with opening the case. Just be sure to ground yourself before handling the hardware (touch a metal part of the case).
    I know how to open my computer and take my RAM sticks out I just wasn't sure on how to buy a new stick.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're looking for DDR PC3200 RAM, probably the most common RAM out their today. Just be sure its DDR, not DDR2 and at least PC3200 or higher and it will work fine.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Manchester; UK
    Posts
    158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben
    You're looking for DDR PC3200 RAM, probably the most common RAM out their today. Just be sure its DDR, not DDR2 and at least PC3200 or higher and it will work fine.
    Thanks thats basically what I wanted to here! I have been looking at a 512MB stick I think it will be compatible.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=78548

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea that RAM should work just fine.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •