SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 25 of 25
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    uhhhh, need your opinion about this

    So I am building out a site for the videographer who did our wedding and this is what I got, http://www.magichour.biz/rough

    Thing is, it loads REALLY slow. So, obviously, I question there servers as I built this with mostly text but it uses images that are stored in the stylesheet.

    So I send in a request for support to find out whether its the PHP that is loading slow or their servers.

    Here is the response I get

    --------------------------------------
    Hello,

    We checked the connectivity of the server and no problems were found.
    We
    tested opening several other pages on the server from US, HK and Europe
    locations and they opened just fine.

    However, your site opens somehow not very fast indeed. We investigated
    this
    and found out, that browsers (we tested with Internet Explorer 6 and
    FireFox
    0.93) do not cache images declared in the CSS file properly. As a
    result of
    this, the images are completely downloaded every time the page is being
    reloaded. It is not the size of the image being that big, so that
    loading an
    image is slow, but loading 10-15 (small) images on a page means opening
    10-15 separate connections from the browser to the server, which of
    course
    cannot be done absolutely simultaneously and slows down the overall
    load
    time of the page from the server to your browser.
    If the images were cached properly in the browser, this would not
    happen.

    Please, remove the images declarations from the CSS file and put them
    in the
    HTML code. If we can be of any further assistance, please, let us know.

    Best Regards,
    What are your thoughts on this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whats even more weird. The CSS when viewed in Firefox is not how I typed it out. Meaning, there are some things that are capitalized, there are some things added like background: transparent which I never said. Some weird stuff,

    My css is written from top to bottom, meaning I do it the long way and this is all shortcutted.

    Weird.

  3. #3
    Non-Member Egor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Very, very strange.

  4. #4
    Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Suburbs of DC (MD)
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That is odd. However it doesn't seem to be taking too long to load for me--under 30 seconds in IE6/PC, Firefox. Really not too bad at all. However I do have a broadband connection.
    Very strange about the CSS. Did you just ftp the files or does the host have some sort of upload that you had to use? Also, is it just me or is there no opening html tag? I viewed source and the code starts with <head>?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I viewed source and the code starts with <head>?
    SON OF A Bit*..... How did that happen. geez.

    Do you think that could be a reason its slowing down? That must have been a mondayian detail

    Its including the header.php file

    I ftp'd the files up to his server. To be honest, I thought there ftp was a little slow, but now I have to go home and check my work.

    Thanks for seeing that Furry.

    btw, on broadband, that shouldn't be taking under 30 seconds it should be taking like 5 - 10 at the most.

    what bothers me is the css. I have to look at that now because that isn't how it originally looked. I use dreamweaver to do my tags and I know for a fact dreamweaver builds them a little different then that.

  6. #6
    Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Suburbs of DC (MD)
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    np. I'm assuming that you saw your stylesheet & recall it looking different,but, for what it's worth, I have seen external CSS files created in Dreamweaver look like that (the property in all caps and no semi colon after the last rule), so I would think that Dreamweaver can produce CSS likie that, maybe it is even the default.

    I tried the page again on IE6--9 seconds. : )

    If you have access to a different server, you might want to try it there too, just as a test to see if maybe it's the host that is a little slow. good luck, Bryan!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got a php server available

    *me thinks*

    wait, my current host my support some php, maybe...

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I fixed the stylesheet and the header.

    Funny, the company must have messed with it, because the footer and css were just fine on my machine. When I check the source and css now, it looks fine.

    But I can't tell if there has been an improvement in speed.

    If you can give it another shot, I would appreciate it.

    Thank you,
    Bryan

  9. #9
    Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Suburbs of DC (MD)
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I'm at home on my mac with DSL. Still about 9 seconds on Firefox. Booted Virtual PC to do IE6 - about 7 seconds, that.

    (Of course right now I'm also downloading and u/l stuff at the same time...)

    hope that helps!

  10. #10
    Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Suburbs of DC (MD)
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    nice looking site, btw! Oh, by the way I saw a typo on one of the random quotes, absolutely spelled wrong, on the raw footage quote

  11. #11
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    and found out, that browsers (we tested with Internet Explorer 6 and
    FireFox
    0.93) do not cache images declared in the CSS file properly. As a
    result of
    this
    What are they talking about ! Of course the images are cached from the css once they are loaded. Unless the browsers settings have been set differently of course.

    The page took 16 seconds to load in IE and in Opera on ISDN 64.0 kbps.

    Paul

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Furri, I appreciate it. Its not "pro-bono" but its in exchange for his wedding services to my wife and I So he better do a damn good job on our video

    Thanks Paul.

    I still think its their servers To be honest. I mean, I did the xhtml and the css no differently then my other sites, and they load much quicker.

    One thing I HAVE noticed is that even in firefox or IE, if I hit F5 or Refresh, it still looks like it has to load certain images, like the rounded corners and such. Then again, I assume they are being caches properly, but after a refresh, I can still see the little areas where they are squared until the image shows up.

  13. #13
    Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Suburbs of DC (MD)
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no problem. hope the video turns out well!

  14. #14
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    if I hit F5 or Refresh, it still looks like it has to load certain
    Isn't that what refresh does? It loads the page from the server and not from the cache. Well that's my interpretation of it and thats how it seems to work in ie.

    Paul

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I officially think its there server. I might be convincing my client to go to jodohost.com where I am at.

    Tell me if you see a signifcant speed increase

    http://www.juicedthoughts.com/rough/index.php

    Thanks

  16. #16
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    About 12 seconds now

  17. #17
    ********* Wizard silver trophy Cam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Burpengary, Australia
    Posts
    4,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    No wait here, almost instant and I'm downloading files at the same time. Probably not much help but I thought I'd share anyway

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it's thier servers.

  19. #19
    Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Suburbs of DC (MD)
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Speed increase? I'll say. About 3 secs max here, IE6, Firefox.

  20. #20
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Paul, 12 seconds!

    are you being funny or serious...

  21. #21
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Paul, 12 seconds!
    Serious! 12 seconds on isdn 64.0kbps on opera 7.54.

    This is for loading the page from new. I clear cache and clear history and then test. Otherwise you are just loading images from your cache which probably will be a couple of seconds.

    A lot of people forget that once the page has been visited then subsequent visits will use the cache and be much quicker. However you need to take into the loading time of a fresh page for new visitors.

    Paul

  22. #22
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok. What was your time for the old one? Do you remember.

    For me, the one on my host is like lighting fast. Almost instant.

    I did a page side by side with two browser windows. I cleared the cache on both, and did my best to hit refersh on both of them at the same time (maybe a 10th of a second off) and sure enough, mine came up almost instant whereas the other one was still loading images here and there.

    Quite interesting if you ask me. You should try it Reminds me of those NetZero commercials trying to convince you that one is 10 times faster then the other

  23. #23
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,556
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    If its still the link in the first post then I just checked in opera again (as it times the loading) and it was 21 seconds.

    If you are on broadband then your speeds will be much quicker of course

    Paul

  24. #24
    Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Suburbs of DC (MD)
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Paul,
    there's a new link actually (testing a new server): http://www.juicedthoughts.com/rough/index.php


  25. #25
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FYI, I have switched hosts for my client, so going to www.magichour.biz/rough will bring it up pretty fast.

    Same price, 5 gb less in bandwidth, but its still 10gb of space.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •