SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello all.

    I have a project I am working on where I have a form, when I click on the form it opens up a small window with a description of what is wanted. This works perfectly for Netscape, but it doesn't work with Internet Explorer 5 - 5.5.

    Does anyone know of any documentation that covers differences between Netscape and IE, accessing css variables and changing content within a css defined object.

    My problem is this.

    / this was triggered by the HREF and can not be treated as an event
    if ((isNS4 && currElem != 0) || (isIE4 && currElem != 0)){
    dom = eval(docObj + '.' + currElem + styleObj);
    state = dom.visibility;

    It says the error is that state = dom.visibility; is either null or not defined. Does anyone have any ideas.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape 4 or 6?
    What are you trying to achieve anyway?
    Just open the form with the results in a new window?

    Could you show us an example, or just a snipplet?
    there might be alternative methods if we can't resolve your code problems.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It works in 4.7 but not in 6. I think it used to work in earlier version IE, like 4.5, but not in 5.

    I guess I just want some ideas of what changes were made concerning css and javascript.

    The objective of the code, is a form, and when you click on the text area of the form, or any other area (example, name: a box is there) a dhtml window will open and explain what is needed in the box.

    I Thank everyone in advanced.

  4. #4
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh..hmm...show us the code?
    You could use javascript alerts...but could be a little annoying..
    you using the element : onFocus?
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is going to be a bit long,

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2//EN">
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>Vendor Information Form</TITLE>
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <META NAME="GENERATOR" CONTENT="Mozilla/4.01 [en] (Win95; U) [Netscape]">
    <META NAME="Classification" CONTENT="policy">

    <script language="JavaScript1.1" src="../../jscript/common.js">
    document.write("A required file was not able to load. Please contact the Support Center
    and report a COMMOM-JS file load error.");
    </script>
    <script language="JavaScript1.2">

    /* Browser sensing */
    /* Set up boolian variables to record the browser type */
    var isNS4 = 0;
    var isNS3 = 0;
    var isIE4 = 0;
    var isIE3 = 0;
    var isOld = 0;
    ns4 = (document.layers)? true:false
    ie4 = (document.all)? true:false

    // Set up other variables
    var docObj;
    var styleObj;
    var topVal;

    /* Determines the browser name and browser version */
    var brow = ((navigator.appName) + (parseInt(navigator.appVersion)));
    if (ns4) {isNS4 = 1;}
    if (ie4) {isIE4 = 1;}
    if (!ns4||!ie4) {isOld = 1;}

    // initalizes our Generic DOM based on the browser
    if (isNS4||isIE4){
    docObj = (isNS4) ? 'document' : 'document.all';
    styleObj = (isNS4) ? '' : '.style';
    }
    NS4 = document.layers;
    if (NS4) {
    origWidth = innerWidth;
    origHeight = innerHeight;
    }

    function reDo() {
    if (innerWidth != origWidth || innerHeight != origHeight)
    location.reload();
    }

    if (NS4) onresize = reDo;
    // if(document.layers){origWidth=innerWidth;origHeight=innerHeight;onresize=function(){if(innerWidth!=origWidth||innerHeight!=origHeight)location.reload()}}

    function glossPop(evt,currElem){
    // checks to see if this is a DHTML browser
    // and that currElem is not set to 0 in which case
    // this was triggered by the HREF and can not be treated as an event
    if ((isNS4 && currElem != 0) || (isIE4 && currElem != 0)){
    dom = eval(docObj + '.' + currElem + styleObj);
    state = dom.visibility;
    if (state == "visible" || state == "show")
    {dom.visibility = "hidden";}
    else
    // finds the position of the mouse
    // and then offsets the coordinates slightly
    {
    if (currElem=="hpc") {
    if (isNS4) {
    topVal = eval(evt.pageY - 90); // + 170 if below
    leftVal = eval(evt.pageX - 125);}
    if (isIE4) {
    topVal = eval(event.y - 90);
    leftVal = eval(event.x - 125);}
    } else {
    if (isNS4) {
    topVal = eval(evt.pageY + 2);
    leftVal = eval(evt.pageX - 125);}
    if (isIE4) {
    topVal = eval(event.y + 2);
    leftVal = eval(event.x - 125);}
    }
    // keeps the element from going off screen tothe left
    if(leftVal < 2) {leftVal = 2;}
    if(leftVal > 275) {leftVal = 300;}
    if(topVal > 265) {topVal = topVal - 150;}
    //dom.top = topVal;
    //dom.left = leftVal;
    dom.visibility = "visible";
    }
    }
    }
    </script>

    <style>
    #requestorName { position: absolute; visibility: hidden; z-index: 10; top: 125px; width: 200px; left: 0px; background-color: #F0FFF0; layer-background-color: #F0FFF0; border-color: NAVY; border-width: 2px; font-size: 8pt; font-family: Arial, sans-serif; }
    #masterData { position: absolute; visibility: hidden; z-index: 10; top: 150px; width: 200px; left: 0px; background-color: #F0FFF0; layer-background-color: #F0FFF0; border-color: NAVY; border-width: 2px; font-size: 8pt; font-family: Arial, sans-serif; }

    </style>

    </HEAD>
    <!--<BODY TEXT="#000000" BGCOLOR="#FFFFFF" LINK="#000080" VLINK="#800000" ALINK="#408080"
    onLoad="changeMenu('elSupply','elSupplyChild','btn-mmform','h_supplymanagement.gif','../supplymanagement/supplymenu.htm','Supply Management Forms','../../')">
    -->
    <BODY TEXT="#000000" BGCOLOR="#FFFFFF" LINK="#000080" VLINK="#800000" ALINK="#408080">

    <DIV ID="bodyArea">

    <FORM onSubmit="return submitIt(this)" ACTION="/cgi-bin/mmformmailer.pl" NAME="Vendor Information Form" METHOD="POST">
    -------------------------------

    I guess this is all that is really needed, each INPUT Type, when touched opens up a small descriptive window. Now the problem lies under the glosspop() function, the dom.visibility, the error is that it is not an object or it is null.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't get you.
    if you want to open a window when an input type is selected,
    you do something like:
    <input type="text" name="example" onFocus="window.open(......)">
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not trying to open a window, I am trying to open a dialog box. When you are at a site, and they have menu that when you put your mouse over the menu title, a little box opens with the sub options to choose from, same kind of concept. When a use clicks on one of the fields, a discriptive box comes up telling the user what each field represents.

  8. #8
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh. Hmm....Sorry. Can't figure a way out.
    Not well verse in your problem.

    my apologies.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    D¨n ╔ideann, Alba
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you're wanting to show a layer on mouseover, not a window, so when you mouse out the layer hides!

    Is this what you want?

  10. #10
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If its layer, I have a code that might help =)
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry about confusing everyone, yes, I want to show a layer on a mouse over, it does work though but only with Netscape, I am trying to make it work for IE5 or 5.5, and it doesn't work.

    Like it says above,

  12. #12
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have to use iLayer?
    Can you show us an example? Then I'll try to modify my script for your usage.

    Thanks
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  13. #13
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What are iLayres, I have heard of layers before but how are iLayers different. As well I just wanted to know what differences their were with Internet explorer compared to Netscape when dealing with layers, and javascript.

  14. #14
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Code:
    <ilayer id="d1" width="400" height="250" visibility="hide">
    </ilayer>
    just a snipplet. I have no idea how to explain...not too usr emyself
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •