SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Advice for a newbie...

Hi, just a couple of quick questions. I'm new to all of this and I'm trying to pick it up as I go along. I've been using dreamweaver to do my css, now I'm want to do it myself 'cos it looks quite simple.

1, Do I just define each style like this in my notepad?

.text {font-size: 12pt;}

Obviously adding what ever I need in the brackets. I've seen it written with the brackets on different lines?

2, when I do body and p can I just define it once seeing as I want them the same?

3, Do I only need to put things like font-weight: normal? Wouldn't it be normal anyway?

4, Can I apply two classes to something?

And finally is there a simple way to create a solid 1px black border and a slight "drop shodow" to the bottom right of my site?

Cheers in advance for any help.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1: yes...after the semi-colon you can put it on a new line or put it all in 1 line.. i prefer to do all the attributes on seperates lines so its ez to edit when i come back to it...

2: you should get in a habit of using <p> and <hx's> instead of just text.. so you would just set the background and margins or whatever you need for the body and set the p and hx's up differently depending on what you need..

3: if nothing is changing u dont need to set it..only set the font-weight if its gonna be different than the default...

4: i dont know why u would want to do this.. if you put ur <p>'s in <div>'s you can set a style to the div and the paragraph..i do that a lot for different effects...theres a lot of different styles and different methods to do this stuff...best bet is to read a lot of tutorials or books and practice...

and finally ..if i understand the question correctly this would be the code..
    border-top: 1px solid black;
    border-left: 1px solid black;
    border-bottom: 3px solid black;