User Tag List

Thread: Mimic tables

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Mimic tables

Hi,

Now I have completed correcting all the quirks and *hacks of the layout of my new website.

So now it comes to the content.

On my home page I want to layout out the 3 key areas of our business and, in the old days, I would have created a 3 column 2 row table with the requisite cellspacing and padding and be done with it.

But now I am a disciple of CSS.

So, within my content column (of a 2col with headers and footers) I want to mimic the layout of this table.

3 columns, within a left float column... everything I try, and believe me I am a beginner at this stuff... seems to either end up doing very odd things to the rest of the layout or ending up out side its containing div. I fiddled about with z-indexes and they just made things worse.

Could some one point me in the right direction.

In the worst case I could remove the 2 columns from their wrapper and place the 3 col within the wrapper which might look best anyway. But to be honest I am trying to find out how to do multiple columns, I might want 4 columns one day or perhaps 5 or 6... Who knows where this could lead?

Here is a little diagram of what I am looking for. I will not be using all 3 groups on the same page but rather want to see how to build columns within other divs.

Never argue with an idiot.
    They just drag you down to their level...
    and beat you with experience.

The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Hi,

Well basically you just have to float elements next to each other. You can have as many columns as you can fit in there

You must remember that css doesn't behave like tables (nor is it really meant to) so if you think in purely table terms then you run into the usual problems of equalising columns and float dropping etc.