SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast SanSui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Apache noob needs to install mod_rewrite - learn how or pay to have it done?

    I don't know jack about apache - I can alter my config files as necessary, php.ini and httpd etc, but when it comes to installing modules or binaries I don't have the knowledge or experience.

    I'm a friggin' designer god help me, not a sys admin :/

    That said, the server that needs mod_rewrite isn't all that new - it is a VPS server and I have root access, so I can install what needs installing (provided I scrap up the brainpower), but I haven't had much success in finding out how mod_rewrite needs to be installed.

    Most places assume you have mod_rewrite installed by default, or that you know how to do it, or make an ominous sounding mention of "recompiling apache"

    What do I need to do here? Is this something that could bring the server to its knees and I should pay someone to do, or am I just being overly dramatic here? :P

  2. #2
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,692
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    San,

    Have a look through your httpd.conf file to see if the mod_rewrite module line has been commented out or installs the mod-rewrite module when loading Apache.

    If it's there, it's a "simple matter" of adding your mod_rewrite rules.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast SanSui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dklynn
    San,

    Have a look through your httpd.conf file to see if the mod_rewrite module line has been commented out or installs the mod-rewrite module when loading Apache.

    If it's there, it's a "simple matter" of adding your mod_rewrite rules.

    Regards,

    DK
    Yeah, that was the first thing I did. It was my understanding that mod_rewrite is most often installed by default, but our httpd config does not show that module

  4. #4
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,692
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    San,

    My httpd.conf file had

    Code:
    #LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
    so I removed the comment leaving

    Code:
    LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
    and it's worked sweet since. Just be sure that you're pointing at the correct file.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast SanSui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The server does not have the module installed, and it is not in our list of modules in the httpd.

    So I need to know how to install it, not just to enable it, and whether its complicated enough that I should be paying someone to handle it.

  6. #6
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,692
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    San,

    I'll guess that you looked in your Apache/modules directory for the mod_rewrite file. If you have access to that directory, you may be able to fetch the file from Apache.org and write it there and add the line to the httpd.conf and restart Apache. From my LIMITED knowledge, that's how I'd try to add the module.

    Apache experts?

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  7. #7
    FreeBSD The Power to Serve silver trophy pippo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4,514
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1)
    Download on your server the sources of apache, please use the same version you are running.
    At home, debian machine, I have Apache sources installed at:
    /usr/local/src/apache_1.3.31

    2)
    then
    cd /usr/local/src/apache_1.3.31
    ./configure --enable-module=rewrite --enable-shared=rewrite
    make

    3)
    cp /usr/local/src/apache_1.3.31/src/modules/standard/mod_rewrite.so /path/to/your/so/modules

    4)
    at httpd.conf Uncomment or add the line
    LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so

    5)
    at httpd.conf if ClearModuleList is uncommented then
    uncomment or add AddModule mod_rewrite.c

    if you are unsure you can PM to me your httpd.conf

    That should work, sincerely I never did it, but I read that was the way to compile a module.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast SanSui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pippo
    1)
    Download on your server the sources of apache, please use the same version you are running.
    At home, debian machine, I have Apache sources installed at:
    /usr/local/src/apache_1.3.31

    2)
    then
    cd /usr/local/src/apache_1.3.31
    ./configure --enable-module=rewrite --enable-shared=rewrite
    make

    3)
    cp /usr/local/src/apache_1.3.31/src/modules/standard/mod_rewrite.so /path/to/your/so/modules

    4)
    at httpd.conf Uncomment or add the line
    LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so

    5)
    at httpd.conf if ClearModuleList is uncommented then
    uncomment or add AddModule mod_rewrite.c

    if you are unsure you can PM to me your httpd.conf

    That should work, sincerely I never did it, but I read that was the way to compile a module.
    Thanks for the help - but our hosting company finally deigned to return our calls regarding the subject. Apparently we have an area where we can browse a list of modules and software apps to install, then have the server automatically install the requested file.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast SanSui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow... I had time to go look for the module and install it today with my SSH client, and lo and behold.... not there. Called up Interland (the host for that server), yet again, and when I got to a senior tech support guy (the first one had no clue whatsoever) he said mod_rewrite is not supported on their VPS products :|

    We'd been planning to add another server or two here soon with a new host - guess we might as well ditch Interland's sorry butt altogether.

    "World class hosting and support" my ***.

    *sigh* In the meantime.... any ideas why search engines won't spider dynamic URL's on a site that

    A.) Only have one variable in the string
    B.) Are linked from a sitemap page with a "static" URL
    C.) Are linked from PR 4 and 5 pages


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •