SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, I have a textarea, and with CSS I've assigned a background and a color.
    Now is there a way to assign to this textarea a rows and cols value ?

    I need the CSS value to have priority over the regular textarea values.

    Thanks,
    Sharg

  2. #2
    I believe you have my stapler. scrubz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Van down by the river
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With CSS, I really doubt it. However, it can be done in JavaScript using something like this (replacing the "myNames" with the names of your form and textarea)...

    document.myForm.myArea.rows = "40"
    document.myForm.myArea.cols = "30"

    Let me know if you need more details on the JavaScript solution.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    scrubz...

    Would your answer would work if there are values already assigned in the textarea tag? I would bet it would not work. I am guessing he wants this solution to some sort of code that he HAS to embed.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  4. #4
    I believe you have my stapler. scrubz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Van down by the river
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good news: It does work if there are already values for rows and cols in the textarea tag. Bad news: It doesn't work at all in Netscape 4.x (although there may be a solution if I spent some time with it).

    An example:

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Untitled</title>

    <script language="JavaScript">
    <!--
    function changeTextarea() {
    var theArea = document.myForm.myArea
    if (theArea.rows == "30" && theArea.cols == "50")
    {theArea.rows = "15"
    theArea.cols = "10"}
    else
    {theArea.rows = "30"
    theArea.cols = "50"}
    }
    // -->
    </script>

    </head>

    <body>
    <form name="myForm" method="post" action="">

    <input type="button" value="Resize Textarea" onClick="changeTextarea();"><br>
    <textarea name="myArea" rows="15" cols="10"></textarea><br>
    </form>

    </body>
    </html>

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your answer.
    The main reason I asked was because Netscape 4.x was causing me some troubles already !.
    Sad that people are still using it.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    maybe we can't do anything about netscape, as long as some users still use them. Take care also with the number of cols, as netscape and explorer behave diffent with each one. A textarea of 60 cols is not the same width in netscape and in explorer.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    why doesn't Netscape just ask people to stop using their own browser?

    if they would just lay down and die, then things would be MUCH easier...
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  8. #8
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm..I don't understand...why can't you just specify it using the normal html method?

    You could try the width element of CSS1 though.

    I haven't tried it, but it works for netscpae, mozilla and ie browsers when used on <input> fields.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •